Kelly's Butterscotch Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2002
This beats packaged butterscotch pudding! Really liked it and can't wait to fix it for my daughter and family when they come to Wyoming to visit. Butterscotch is her very favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2002
Great flavor, especially warm. Faster to make than homemade puddings which don't use cornstarch, but didn't really set up until chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
I don't think I'll make this again. the mixture didn't firm up until completely cooled (2 hrs). It was too sweet to be eaten alone. Maybe if the cornstarch was increased this could be used as a pie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
I made pie for dessert with this recipe. Everyone really loved it. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
Very Rich and Very Sweet. You could probably forgo the butter and use less sugar and it would be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
YUM! I wish I had used dark brown sugar but it still was a wonderful treat! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer : )

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
Awesome- so super creamy! I added an extra tablespoon of cornstarch because the other reviews had me worried about the pudding setting up. I'm not sure if I really needed it but it turned out fabulous! The perfect comfort food in the middle of a South Dakota snowstorm! My husband snitched so much of it that I had to make another batch to have enough for our kids! :) Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
I hate to say that I enjoyed the boxed stuff better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
yum yum! Don't stir again after you finish stirring the butter in, or it will get grainy. I also added about a tablespoon of scotch whiskey for flavor- it is butterSCOTCH, after all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ponce, Ponce, Puerto Rico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
I followed this recipe exactly as written, using dark brown sugar. My only confusion was that the ingredients called for 3 cups milk and it wasn't clear in the instructions whether the "enough milk to make thick paste" was from this 3 cups or in addition to the 3 cups. I assumed it was included in the three cups. Anyway, the pudding ended up not setting as well as I would like, after refrigerating overnight it is kind of soft-set. What I don't like about it is it has a floury taste/texture. Since I did not use flour I assume that is the cornstarch. So I obviously did something wrong in the cooking...maybe I didn't get the milk boiling hard enough before adding the cornstarch/sugar mixture? I plan to try this one more time to see if I can get it to come out better, if not I will move on to another recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States