Kelly's Butterscotch Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Definitely use DARK brown sugar for this recipe. I used lt. brown and it just doesn't have enough of a butterscotch taste although it's still good. Just the fact that it's home made makes it good and it's so comforting. I'm going to take another reviewers advice and add a bit of butterscotch schnapps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by treatdream

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
Yum...It is worth the trip to the grocery store to get the dark brown sugar. Very rich pudding, but oh, so good on a cold evening :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
I was really looking forward to tasting the result of this recipe, because I live in a foreign country and butterscotch flavored anything cannot be found here. Unfortunately, I found the flavor very mild, with more of just a "sweet" taste than anything else. Mid-way through cooking, however, I tasted the milk/sugar mixture, just before putting in the egg, and before adding the vanilla. I actually thought that it tasted more like butterscotch at that point, than at the end. I think I will try this again, but I will make some changes. I will either increase the amount of brown sugar used in the recipe, or I will try using dark brown sugar instead of the light brown sugar that I used. Also, I think I will omit the vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pomeroy, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Meh, I didn't think this recipe was that great, tasted like milk and brown sugar to me. But I was in a pinch, I ran out of my 5 year old's fav pudding, so i whipped this up, he ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
Awsome. I have been looking for a good butterscotch pudding for a long time! The only change I made was to add a bit of butterscotch schnapps - I like it Really butterscotchy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
I followed this recipe exactly as written, using dark brown sugar. My only confusion was that the ingredients called for 3 cups milk and it wasn't clear in the instructions whether the "enough milk to make thick paste" was from this 3 cups or in addition to the 3 cups. I assumed it was included in the three cups. Anyway, the pudding ended up not setting as well as I would like, after refrigerating overnight it is kind of soft-set. What I don't like about it is it has a floury taste/texture. Since I did not use flour I assume that is the cornstarch. So I obviously did something wrong in the cooking...maybe I didn't get the milk boiling hard enough before adding the cornstarch/sugar mixture? I plan to try this one more time to see if I can get it to come out better, if not I will move on to another recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
yum yum! Don't stir again after you finish stirring the butter in, or it will get grainy. I also added about a tablespoon of scotch whiskey for flavor- it is butterSCOTCH, after all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ponce, Ponce, Puerto Rico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
I hate to say that I enjoyed the boxed stuff better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
Awesome- so super creamy! I added an extra tablespoon of cornstarch because the other reviews had me worried about the pudding setting up. I'm not sure if I really needed it but it turned out fabulous! The perfect comfort food in the middle of a South Dakota snowstorm! My husband snitched so much of it that I had to make another batch to have enough for our kids! :) Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
YUM! I wish I had used dark brown sugar but it still was a wonderful treat! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer : )

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States