Kelly's Butterscotch Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I did 4 egg yolks instead of 3, added just a tad bit more cornstarch and changed 3 cups milk to 1 c heavy cream and 2 c milk. I did this because I wanted it thicker for pie. I also did the directions like I do for chocolate pie. I used a mixer and beat brown sugar and eggs. I added cornstarch and salt. Then did the same as written to add butter and vanilla after taking off stove. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
This is a great recipe! I used it to fill my granddaughters birthday cake. Flavor and texture are perfect for the application that I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Creamy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debem
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
still learning cook top pudding, but very easy, quick recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
This recipe 'may' get the butterscotch flavor using DARK brown sugar. As is, with brown sugar, it tastes like extremely sweet and mostly flavorless pudding. It has a nice texture and consistency, though (I used 2% milk).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
My kids liked this more then the version I made that didn't use eggs. It makes more then I needed as well. I would say I got 8 serving out of it. The only change I made was how the dry and wet ingredients are combined to prevent lumps before adding heat. I do suggest using dark instead of the light brown sugar for a more distinct taste. I did use light brown sugar this time. But as is it's still a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
good but next time i will only use 2 egg yolks and watch the heat! My 14 year old says its amazing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
This was awesome! Made it to the letter plus one addition of 1T. scotch when I mixed in the butter and vanilla. I gave my roommate the spoon I had cooked with to lick while the cups were chilling and he came back to the kitchen with a clean spoon confessing he might have sprained his tongue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I used this as a pie filling in a crumb crust. The pudding thickened nicely, but lacked a strong butterscotch flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Nicholas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I am not a fan of this recipe. Even using dark brown sugar, as suggested, it didn't have a strong enough butterscotch flavor. It was extremely sweet, and not creamy enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Meadowwood Tapioca Pudding

See what it takes to make a complete “homestead meal” including tapioca pudding.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States