Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I know I'm breaking my own rule, but please do not rate a recipe low simpy because you want to comment. It's just plain rude. There are plenty of people who've tried and liked this per the real reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DADAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I fry "zooks" all season long, using your recipe and sometimes my own but I always fry using saved bacon grease, I never have enough bacon grease to fry with, so I save every drop until I get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Its apparent no one proof reads these recipes or instructions. The coating is not going to stick, and adding cheese to a frying item will really mess up the oil for the next batch. Then add melted cheese to the plate?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I am surprised to find this being promoted. Studies in the last two years have warned that vegetables processed at the high temperatures created in frying produce the toxic contaminant acrylamide. This toxin is one of the today's leading causes of cancer. Look it up if you don't believe this. I'm not one to decry the bad things about food. But, fried vegetables is now considered THE WORST thing you can do veggies. Ho, Lorraine. "Cancer Alert on Stir-fry Vegetables - The Standard." Cancer Alert on Stir-fry Vegetables. The Standard Newspapers Publishing Ltd., 30 July 2013. Web. 25 July 2014. Phillip, John. "Toxic Compounds from Fried Foods Cause Cancer and Deteriorate Brain Health." Natural News. Natural News Network, 28 Feb. 2012. Web. 25 July 2014. Tsang, Emily. "Health Bureau Raises Cancer Warning for Stir-fried Greens." South China Morning Post. SCMP Group, 30 July 2013. Web. 25 July 2014.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Prissel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Good recipe. I always sweat my zucchini with a sprinkle of salt and let them drain before frying. And I find that using Crisco shortening is better for frying - veggies turn out lighter and crisper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
This was just ok for me. I think some more spices would help. Also, I think I would make the slices a little thinner, otherwise they are still pretty hard after frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
This was delicious. You just have to watch to get the perfect done-ness. Not so good if the zucchini is beginning to mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shiny me

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
This was a really good recipe. Made it as written. Will definitely become the go-to recipe when zucchini season hits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
We have so much zucchini in our garden, I've already made these 3 times so far this summer. I tried the traditional frying the first time, but the oil kept getting so dirty (and didn't seem too hot) that it was very frustrating. But, baking them as one of the other reviewers suggested, was perfect! 375 degrees for 20 min (flip halfway), was so good! You can also get more done in the oven than in the frying pan; win-win all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States