Keligun Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
It smells so good and easy to make. My hubby cannot stop open the oven. I thought the soy sauce is too much. It turn out not salty enough. ( sometimes I like salty food). I also put a teaspoon of sugar into my marinate.( I love a tin of sweetness) . I do not like flaked coconut. I used sauted mushroom.. I skipped the lemon juice. My son does not like tart food. I reserved the marinate, added some flour to make it gravy. The gravy placed on my side for the stemed veggies. It turns out a nice family dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
Great recipe! I used boneless chicken breasts, added powdered ginger and red pepper flakes to the marinade. Let it marinate about 4 hours and cooked it on my George Foreman grill. I also omitted the green onions since I'm not a big fan of them. I cooked the marinade down and topped the chicken with it at the end. If you added the red pepper flakes to the marinade, make sure you like it spicy if you top the chicken with the sauce, it really adds a kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, Texas, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
This is the easiest and best recipe. I've now made it several ways, grilled, sauteed, baked and the chicken is perfect each and every time. For an appetizer, I've skewered the chicken pieces between baby bella mushrooms, pineapple and for kick a maraschino cherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POHLITO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anacortes, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
Easy, unique and tasty! I highly recommend using low-sodium soy, as regular soy tends to be WAY too salty. I add a bit of ginger (about a tablespoon, chopped) for adding zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This had a great salty sweet taste to it. Served with white rice it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I thought this recipe was pretty good, but I'd make a few modifications next time. I made the marinade according to the recipe. Next time I would either cut down on the soy sauce or use low-sodium soy sauce, as it came out very salty. I would also omit the salt that goes in at the end. I used boneless chicken breasts, cut into strips before being placed in the marinade. I marinated for 2-1/2 hours. Then I cooked the chicken in a cast iron skillet. This worked very well. I couldn't find unsweetened coconut, so I just used sweetened. I was afraid my husband would hate it, because he hates sweet and meat together, but he thought it was great, and said I should just use sweetened coconut rather than going out of my way to find unsweetened. I also added an extra handful of chopped green onions, and my husband and I both thought it could use even more. I think next time I would also add ginger or chili flakes as others have suggested to give it some spice. I will definitely make this recipe again (with modifications).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommySmith
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
At first I was thrown off by the ingredients but I decided to give it a try because I had all the ingredients on hand. I had no idea this chicken would be extremely tender and full of flavor. It was like my taste buds were dancing around my tongue. This was a really big hit with my family. We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I only had about a quarter cup of soy sauce so used that with the vinegar, about 1/2 c water, a few tbsp teriyaki sauce and a tblsp fish oil, a generous dash of powdered garlic, ginger and pepper. Cut chicken in pieces and cooked on the stovetop with the liquid, added about a tbsp of flour at the end to thicken. Then added sweetened coconut (forgot the lemon). It was intense but delicious -- it would have been great if we'd had jasmine rice to go with it to calm it down a bit. I probably won't make it again because coconut is so fattening, but it was quite delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I agree that 1 cup soy is way too much; overpowers the other ingredients in the marinade. I cut it to 1/4 cup, also 1/4 cup rice vinegar, (original was too much like vindaloo for my taste--sourness clashed with the other ingredients.) I added tsp ginger and red chile flakes,put in lime juice and togarashi (japanese condiment that includes chile and tangerine zest) because I don't like lemon pepper so I guess I ended up making my usual yakitori. :) Old habits... The coconut was fun and tasty. but too many changes needed to make the marinade edible so only 3 stars for the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
Not my favorite, but my husband loved it. i would not make again unless he requests it. Somewhat healthy and goes wonderfully with "zucchini saute".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Barbecue Chicken

Discover a great technique for making perfect barbecue chicken.

How to Grill Chicken Better

Get tips for prepping and grilling crusty, juicy chicken.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States