Keerti's Karwari Prawns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
My family loved this. I served with rice and broccoli. For my son the cayenne was a bit much so I would 1/2 it next time. I added the coconut milk (approx. 1/2 cup)while frying the grated coconut as it took up any moisture in the pan. I would in future after grating the coconut pour boiling water and letting sit for 30 minutes. (a common way to make coconut milk) and add as required to mitigate dryness. A GREAT RECIPE THAT CAN BE MINORALLY ADJUSTED TO TASTE. Thank you so much. Chris
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
WOW! I love coconut shrimp and this was very, very good. Reading other reviews I simply used unsweetened flaked coconut and added a little water once the shrimp were added to the pan (to make up for the moisture loss of using dried coconut). Very quick and tasty. I served it with Indian side dishes. My husband finished his plate and exclaimed "that was great, time to lick the plate, good!" This is so not my man, to give you an idea of just how good this dish is. Thank you for sharing this dish. This will take the place of my Korma as the star of my Indian dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
Quite a good recipe but I felt that something was missing. Maybe it is because the only spices are chilli and turmeric. Will try with some mustard seeds and garam masala next time. Thanks for the recipe anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
A very good recipe, although I definitely recommend not using a whole coconut. Otherwise, I really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
ouch! really good, 1 coconut is to much for 3/4 lbs of prawns unless (you have really small coconuts).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
I made this dish last week, along with other Indian side dishes and it was wonderful. Because I didn't want to fool around with cracking, peeling and shredding fresh coconut, I looked online to see about substitutions. I learned that 4-5 cups of unsweetened, shredded coconut is equal to the fresh type. Turned out great, although a bit dry. I will make this one again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
To make the recipe a little more juicy I used canned young cocnut juicy (since I did not use fresh coconut but shredded unsweetened coconut from the store). I also did not want to burn up myself nor set my guests on fire so I used a lot less cayenne pepper. It was absolutely delicious (the leftovers the next day were even better after soaking in the spices for a whole night)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2000
Indian food is some of the most imaginativly flavored cuisines in the world, much is done with many spices with few ingredients. Adds a lot of interest to a menu . Marigold
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2000
These shrimp were delicious, yet I found the coconut difficult to shred.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2000
I used pregrated unsweetened coconut that you buy at any store. The recipe is a little dry, but flavor delicious. I think the flavor would be enhanced if 1/2 cup coconut milk or fish/chicken stock was added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Easy Garam Masala

See how to make your own Indian spice blend at home.

Indian Shrimp Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy, Indian-inspired seafood curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States