Keema (Indian-Style Ground Meat) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Tasty and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
This is very good and an unusual dish for me. I followed directions exactly - yet added additional broth to the recipe. Spicy and Delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I took the suggestions and added coriander, cinnamon stick, chili powder, and cumin. Also threw in the peas and used a little more broth. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Had all ingredients in the house when I found your website. Made it that night, followed suggestions in the reviews--dbl beef broth, more garam masala, cumin, ginger, turmeric, curry powder, etc. Also added a can of garbanzo beans & peas. It was Great!!!! Everyone had seconds!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I was looking for a quick and dirty recipe that involved the use of garam masala and ground beef. This one fit the bill. Four stars because I believe it would have been bland without the spices I used suggested by other reviewers. My recipe used a package of ground beef, 2.5 tablespoons garam masala, a teaspoon of salt, a dash of coriander, cayenne pepper, cumin and cinnamon. I ground the coriander myself. Then I mixed in the onion, garlic, beef broth and tomato paste as suggested. My husband and I really enjoyed this meal and I'll be keeping it around for future use. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
This recipe was excellent and super easy! Based on the previous reviews I made the following modifications: used ground beef instead of lamb, only used 1.5 TBS garam masala, added 1/2 tsp. curry and 1/2 tsp. cumin, added 1 can of chick peas, used 5 tsp. of tomato paste, used 1 cup beef broth. Served over jasmine rice and it was fantastic! Excited to have found a new ground beef recipe for the books!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: New Britain, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I really like this dish! I did less than half of my garam masala substitute and it was still spicy, so do add a little at a time while tasting as you go to ensure you don't over do it! A great inspiration recipe that you can add to if you desire, which is what I did. I took the author's advice and added veggies: frozen mix of peas, carrots, corn & green beans, sweet potatoes, celery & cauliflower serving it with buckwheat instead of rice. I substituted and added other ingredients according to what I didn't have, etc: ground beef instead of lamb, 1/2 packet of onion soup mix instead of onion, 1.5 tsp Chana Dal masala instead of 2 Tbsp garam masala & added 1.5 Tbsp yellow curry (I cannot handle hot spice, hence the decrease), 1/4 tsp sea salt (reduced salt due to type & using onion soup mix), increased tomato paste to 5.5 fl oz can adding 1/2 cup water and 1/2 cup whole milk (due to increased volume of dish b/c of added veggies, & to help reduce spiciness).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
As a base for a recipe this is a good start. I also did as others suggested, adding cumin, clove, curry powder and peas. Made for a tasty, fast meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Despite reading countless other reviews suggesting to add extra spices. I made the recipe exactly as written. The flavour was all right, but I think it could have used a little something else. I would suggest reading the posted reviews and adding the extra spices that you think would fit your families tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUNLETA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
made this tonight with ground turkey and a small can of tomato sauce. sprinkled in a bit of indian chili powder for some heat, and BAM! this was unbelieveably good. i also added some peas for a veg. will make again and again. my DH didn't even realize it was turkey. i bet it would be outstanding with lamb and can't wait to try it that way! thanks for the post ajr!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States