Keema Aloo (Ground Beef and Potatoes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2015
Nice recipe with lot of flavor and easy to cook. Needed to cook longer on sim I kept my potato dice bigger . Served with rice .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
To die for! We couldn't get enough. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
Delicious! I substituted curry for the garam masala that was missing from my spice rack. I cut back a bit on the cayenne, and tasted the serrano before I add it. It was a fairly mild one. I thought the finished dish had the perfect heat. This recipe would be good with ground lamb, too. My family thought we didn't even need rice. The potatoes were enough to make it feel like a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYCE LITOFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
Unique, tasty and filling. I followed this to a tee and we loved it. Would be great with cauliflower as well. Served with rice and naan. Reheats really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
It dish was so yummy. I didn't have turmeric and masala and It was just fine without it. Instead of green peas I added chopped fresh Kale. I also used a can of basil, oregano and garlic diced tomato which I think added to the flavor. This dish actually reminded me of something my mom makes and she adds quail eggs to it so next time I might just do that too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Oh, my gosh! This was so good! I've been making Keema Alu with another (well-known) cookbook's recipe for years and love this dish. This recipe from Allrecipes is just as yummy. My kids say this one is not as spicy as my other recipe, which pleases one kid but not the others. We serve ours with rice, a salad, and naan. I grind my own spices, except for the garam masala, so they are really fresh. (I do this in a small coffee grinder.) The Serrano pepper I used was ripe red. To save time, you could use ginger paste found in the produce section. We probably eat this dish at least once every three weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Easy recipe to make, tasted fabulous, and the leftovers are a great lunch the next day. My only change was eliminating the Serrano and halving the cayenne, since I am a lightweight when it comes to heat. It gave me the Indian food flavors I was craving, without having to worry about what a restaurant considered "mildly" spicy. Great first venture into making this genre of food at home. Thanks for posting the recipe, Meataterian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
This was surprisingly delicious. We ordered Indian takeout from a highly-rated restaurant a few weeks ago and honestly this was just as good. I had a little less meat than the recipe called for so I increased the potatoes and peas, and added about a cup of water to compensate for the increased potatoes. I did not have garam masala so I used a recipe from this site to make my own, and I had everything but the cardamom for that. I omitted the serrano chili and reduced the cayenne pepper to make it more suitable for my toddlers, and everyone loved it. As other posters have said, this was even better reheated the next day. Oh, I was also out of olive oil so I substituted coconut oil, and that worked just fine. Really a terrific recipe that uses ordinary ingredients in an un-boring way. Will definitely make this again and again. I am hoping it doubles and triples easily for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
A very flavorful recipe. I diced the potatoes and used green beans in place of peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvonne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Buena Park, California, USA
Photo by Maria B
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
So easy and so good. Follow the recipe exactly and turned out amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States