Kedgeree Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
My son says "Yum!!!" But I did change it a little!! He doesn't like peas, so I used sweetcorn, I only used 1 cup of Rice and double the quantity of smoked haddock and 5 teaspoons of curry powder!! Definitely morish!!!! Mmmmmmmm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Jayne Singh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: York, Yorkshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Bridlington, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roger Owen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Delish! I did as others suggested and used half the rice (brown basmati). I couldn't find fresh smoked haddock, so I used canned smoked herring, and it worked out well. Then I added the bay leaf to the rice while it was cooking and added a touch of coconut milk (my standard sub for cream/milk) to the rice after it was cooked. I seasoned it with quite a bit of salt, but it was really the yogurt (I used Greek) that brought out the flavors. Easy and delicious--a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
I'm about to try it -- it sounds wonderful. What I want to know is is it necessary to cook smoked fish? All the kedgeree recipes call for cooking it, but we eat smoked salmon as is on crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
It was awesome! The curry added a great deal of flavor. I see others were talking about how bland it was, but I didn't find that. High in protein, I see why it was a breakfast meal. I will definatley have again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
Nice blend of flavors. I made it exactly per the recipe. Even the kid liked it, which surprised me. Easily adapted if you like it spicier. No leftovers. Next time I'll at least double it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
this was quick and easy to make.also ideal if you're on a tight budget.if you dont like curry powder add saffron to the rice water to make it nice and yellow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
This is a quite definitive recipe, although the rice quantity is a bit excessive for the Western palate, and the peas are a rather odd addition. The yogurt is a lovely sharp change from the standard heavy cream. If using a rice cooker, there's no need to cook the haddock: just steam it on top of the cooked rice on the Warm cycle, then flake it with chopsticks right where it lies. I cook the rice in fish or chicken stock for added flavour, and always make enough for leftovers: kedgeree is the BEST omelette filling imaginable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
This was a pleasant suprise. I loved the great mix of flavors of the smoke and the curry. The only thing I've ever done with smoked haddock before was Finnan Haddie (a creamy, buttery dish). My quandry was that I'm trying to take off a few pounds and can't afford a white sauce....and here my mom gave me this smoked haddock. I used brown basmati rice (Trader Joe's) and scaled the rice down to just two cups cooked rice. Used olive oil instead of butter...just because. I'll make this one, again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Black Diamond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I made this last week and it turned out great! I used perch as that was what I had in the freezer (added smoked paprika when cooking the fish in the milk). I added 3 T. curry powder, 1 t. cumin & 1 t. smoked paprika to boost the flavor. Substituted corn for peas as others suggested and used 4 eggs instead of 2 (I love eggs). I also added about a 1/2 c. water after the onions had browned a little, to combat the dryness. Tasted delicious and the leftovers were even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chris white

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Huevos Rancheros

A simple tostada-style breakfast with fried eggs, beans, bacon, and salsa.

Scotch Eggs

See the secret to scrumptious, sausage-wrapped Scotch eggs.

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States