Kay's Spaghetti and Lasagna Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
this sauce is sooo yummy, ive been making it for awhile already. But i decided to do it a little different this time. I browned the beef,onion,garlic, and pepper together, and threw all the ingredients together into the slowcooker. I used one can of crushed tomatoes, 1 can of diced italian tomatoes, and one can of tomato sauce. Let it slow cook on low for 5 hours, with a tad bit of water. Then tossed with pasta later and topped with parm cheese. It was sooo wonderful, when you let it cook on low for a long time the flavor is just wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
703 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wifeyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
This is the best homemade sauce I have ever had! It is also much better than anything you can get in the store, but then again, it is homemade. I left out the green pepper, because I didnt have any on hand, and used only diced tomatoes, because once again, that was all I had. I also left out the sugar all together and added a can of tomato sauce (I dont care for the taste of tomato paste), 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes and a pinch of baking soda to take out some of the acidity, which ends up turning the acid to sugar and makes it taste a bit sweeter so it doesnt need the sugar after all! Wonderfull recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
341 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whatarat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paragonah, Utah, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2004
I made this last night to go along with baked ziti. It was delicious. Although I did make several changes. I used only 1 onion, 1 tsp. of brown sugar, 1 green bell pepper. I also added mushrooms along with 1 red & yellow bell pepper. I used 1/2 ground beef & 1/2 italian sausage & added a little bit of crushed red pepper. I let it simmer for about an hour & perfecto!! This is great to use as a base recipe. You can add or take away from based on your personal preferences. Thanks Sheri!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
238 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2005
I used this recipe for lasagna. It is delicious! I made the sauce in the slow cooker the night before and let it cook for 4 hours. I added one tablespoon of brown sugar as suggested by the other reviewers. I took leftovers to my parent and they asked for the recipe! Thanks for sharing a terrific sauce that is already added to my recipe binder!!!! I'm looking forward to making another batch to freeze so it will be ready whenever I need it. PS-I used 2 cans of tomato sauce and two cans of whole tomatoes blended them up together; omitted the green peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2002
Absolutely the best and easiest sauce I've ever tried. Like some previous reviewers, I cut the sugar in half and added a can of tomato paste. I also had to leave the bell peppers out because my husband doesn't like them (but I'll make it WITH them when he's out of town). Great sauce!! I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
Yum! I made this for my husband's birthday dinner and he loved it. I will cut back on the sugar next time, it was a touch too sweet for me. I did add crushed red pepper to spice it up a bit and let it simmer for a couple of hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Very nice recipe. My secret weapon was a dash of cinnamon. Only a dash though! I didn't blend the tomatoes together, but I did chop up the stewed tomatoes. I added a tbsp. of white sugar, and dark brown sugar. I also added tomato sauce (to taste). It needs salt and pepper for sure, and I added a few shakes of red pepper flakes. It kept simmering and I kept adding more basil and oregano to taste. A bay leaf is nice too. Will make again, and will tinker with it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OhSoLittleMouse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
GREAT! Picky 11-year old enjoyed it. I took the advice of using 1 tbsp sugar and adding a can of tomato paste. Also, only used 1 onion and 1 bell pepper and almost a 1 1/2 of hamburger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orofino, Idaho, USA
Living In: Port Ludlow, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2002
This was a great spegetti sauce. Easy to prepare and my kids loved it. I don't have a blender so the tomatoes were a little big, but still all in all great stuff!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
I have tried MANY recipes trying to find a good marinara sauce that everyone in my family would like and I have finally found it. I would cut back on the sugar and bell pepper next time, though, but it was the best so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 486) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States