Kay's Spaghetti and Lasagna Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
My family loved this spaghetti sauce! I will make it again for just the adults in the house and instead of sugar, grate some carrot in the mix when browning the veggies (for sweetness), add a cup of port wine and some red pepper flakes and give it some zing. My kids don't eat spicy. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This recipe is almost like the one I have made for years. The only thing different is that I use 1 can of tomato sauce and 1 can of diced tomatoes and not so much sugar. 1 tsp. Will try this one and compare. I also add medium or hot Italian sausage meat with the ground beef to give it some zing and fresh or canned mushrooms. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I tried this yesterday with a few minor adjustments and thought it was really good. I used all diced tomatoes because thats all I had, and added in 1 6oz can tomato paste to help thicken it. I didn't add the green pepper to it, and added a little bit more sugar than the recipe said. got compliments all around for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathy_med
Home Town: Valenzuela, National Capital Region, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
A good spaghetti sauce. I followed the recipe with one exception - I used a 15 oz. can of Italian tomatoes because it's what I had. If I make this again, I think the recipe could stand for one 28 oz. can to be Italian blend tomatoes, just for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
just average, I found it too thin. And bland.sorry....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
This is a very simple recipe. I changed the ground beef with ground Italian Sausage. This gave it more of an Italian flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Herbert Len Moser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saginaw, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
The sauce is even better if the sugar is left out. Most canned tomato's are sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
My home made sauce is very similar. The difference is that I roast pork neck bones & add it to the simmering sauce. It adds even more flavor and always brown the meat & saute the veggies before adding to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Pretty good basic recipe. My family's sauce starts with olive oil, minced onion, cook for a couple of minutes, add minced garlic and tomato Paste, stir constantly to carmelize the paste, add more oil if dry, no sugar is needed, and I only add bell peppers when I'm making chicken cacciatore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Hallmark

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 495) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Spaghetti with Buffalo Tomato Sauce

See how to make a simple spaghetti and meat sauce starring ground buffalo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States