Kay's Spaghetti and Lasagna Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Yummy recipe! The whole family enjoyed, even my 4 year old. I only used 1 onion, 1 bell pepper and added 1 (14.5 oz) can of tomato sauce and 2 bay leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
This is an awesome recipe. I only made a few changes due to what I had on hand. I used 1 regular size can of diced tomatoes with garlic and oregano, 2 regular size cans of tomato sauce and 1 regular size can of tomato paste. Everyone raved about it! I made it up on a Saturday night, put in the fridge and then put it in the crock pot before going to church. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
A little bland. I used 1.5 tbs of sugar and really liked the sweetness, but my husband said he could do without it. I had to add more basil and oregano, also added some red pepper flakes. I loath bell peppers so used mushrooms and turkey instead of beef. Next time I will only use 1/2-1 tbs of sugar and add more garlic. After the additions, the sauce turned out very amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This is the best sauce I've ever made. My husband always tells me my sauce tastes like compared to his mothers. When I made this he said "Wow! This is just as good if not better than Mom's!" So, I will use this over and over. I'm making for the 2nd time right now, didnt have any stewed tomatoes so I'm using two cans of chopped, I blended one and kept the other the way it was out of the can, I think the little pieces of tomato add a dimension to the sauce. Thanks for this recipe, it's so wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
A really good sauce. Our family thought it was a little too sweet, so I will decrease the sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
This has become my "go to" spaghetti sauce recipe. The only thing I do different (but definitely isn't necessary) is double the recipe and use 1# ground beef and 1# ground pork. Perfect sauce recipe and easily adapts to whatever veggies you choose to put in or omit. Thank you for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanette Steiner Grayhek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
This was pretty good and my family loved it. I didn't add green peppers and I only used one onion. Next time I will use a little more salt and I might try a little red pepper flakes for a kick. This is a good basic recipe that can be easily tweaked to your families taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
This was amazing. I too made some alterations for my pallet. I used turkey, increased teh garlic, decreased the sugar, and added mushrooms and tomato paste. YUM thank you for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
This recipe is simple and delicious for a good basic pasta sauce. I have been buying Newman's own for years because my husband thought it tasted just as good as home made. When I made this sauce last night he said it was better than out of a jar! Trust me, that is high praise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
The Best !! The taste is just how I remember my Italian grandmother's spaghetti sauce. Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe -- it is the one and only I will make for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 495) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Spaghetti with Buffalo Tomato Sauce

See how to make a simple spaghetti and meat sauce starring ground buffalo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States