Kay's Spaghetti and Lasagna Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
It never made sense to me when people would ask why anyone would buy sauce when it's so easy to just make a better sauce yourself. Now I understand. Just make it as written and enjoy. If you don't like bell pepper (like me), at least use 1. The sauce needs that flavor layer. Other than that, don't mess with it. I made the mistake of following advice of adding tomato paste...no bueno. NOW FOR THE MEAT LOVERS: Buy a pound of ground meat and a pound of Italian sausage. Use 3/4 of each for a total of 1 1/2 pounds of meat in the sauce. Here's the bonus: mix the remaining 1/4 pound of each together with a good pinch of red pepper flakes. Make a couple of patties, or meatballs, or whatever form you like, and sprinkle on a little season salt. Cook in a hot skillet with a bit of olive oil. I like it with a little char on it for a grill-like flavor. Serve it on top of the dish for a bonus kick to a wonderful pasta. Your resident meat lovers will love you for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Ladies, add Parmesan, great addition. Wonderful recipe. This will be handed down as a family favorite. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by petals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Pisgah, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Best spaghetti sauce recipe I have ever made. I only used one onion and Italian sausage instead of ground beef. I have had so many people ask me for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Made this twice. The first time my family loved, loved, loved it. The second time, it was a bit sweet for us, not sure what I did differently, but I will keep it in the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
This has been my go to pasta sauce ever since my husband, who is Italian, said it reminded him of home. VERY easy and keeps well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
amazing! that is all I can say. I am trying it in a crockpot and used fresh tomatoes instead of crushed and stewed. We will see how it turns out!!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This is actually a really good base to go off of! I used 2 cans of crushed tomatoes because that's all I had, splenda instead of sugar and after I started making it I discovered I was out of oregano so I used 1 T of italian seasoning and 1 tsp of basil since since the italian seasoning has basil in it. I also added about 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper and it was really good! I wanted to taste it fairly natural this time and I figured for future efforts (which there will be plenty of those) I'll add things like mushrooms, black olives, spinach, carrots... I love my veggies, lol! This was a nice and thick sauce and full of flavor! So much better than the stuff in a jar and very little effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mosaicmom35

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
This was pretty good, made it for a work lunch in my slow cooker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tashaboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Delicious! I did not bother with a blender. I drained off a little of the liquid from the stewed tomatoes and added an 8 oz. can of tomato sauce, as well as the crushed tomatoes as directed. Used only 1 yellow onion and 1 green pepper. Kept all other ingredients the same. Excellent and oh-so-easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Super easy and tastes great. What more can I say? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 497) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Spaghetti with Buffalo Tomato Sauce

See how to make a simple spaghetti and meat sauce starring ground buffalo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States