Kay's Spaghetti and Lasagna Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
I added 1 green and 1 red pepper because that's what I had on hand and 2 small cans of tomato paste to thicken the sauce. I also added 2 tsp of parsley and skipped the salt & pepper. The sugar is needed to counter the acid of the tomatoes. I think the longer you simmer the sauce the better it tastes. So good the next day! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATKOMP

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I added pork meatballs, and some Italian sausage mild and hot.. 3 mild and 2 hot. I also added some Italian seasonings to mine.. It was very good both ways. But my house full of boys wanted more meat!! I didn't add the sugar though, they aren't too keen on sweet sauces, but it was still a very good recipe to start with and make my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
This sauce had good flavor, but came out a little watery. I think I would add a small can of tomato paste to try to thicken it up a little. We also added some additional herbs (marojam, thyme, rosemary).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Fantastic! Wouldn't change a thing. Don't give 5 stars easily but this deserves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Ad extra fresh basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Hayden Denehy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
This was a great recipe and was a huge hit at dinner. I did make a few changes which I think made this dish even more tasty and even easier. Instead of stewed tomatoes and crushed tomatoes, I substituted that for one 32 ounce bottle of Marinara Sauce. This bottle had basil in it so I cut back slightly on the dried basil from the recipe. I also cut back the sugar to 1 tablespoon and also only used 1 bell pepper and 1 Onion. I adjusted the salt and pepper at the end and it was super! I served it with black linguine but any pasta would work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This is the greatest spaghetti sauce! Is the best out of so many i have tried that didn't taste too much like jar sauce. I follow the recipe exactly though I do cut back on the onion for our preference. I have used this with the ground beef and also ground turkey and is great both ways. It is my favorite sauce and I will continue to make it. I will not buy jar sauce again. With the different types of tomatoes used, the texture and consistency is perfect. Spice is just right. I love to find these great kind of keepers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Elledge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Very good! I used Italian-seasoned ground turkey and pureed tomatoes, and skipped the blender. I let it simmer for around an hour. Needed quite a bit of salt, but that depends on how much salt is in your tomatoes. If you make it with turkey, you'll end up with a lot of water that needs to be cooked off/drained before you add the tomatoes, so allow time for that. (This is the nature of ground turkey, in my experience, and nothing to do with this recipe.) I used the full amount of sugar and didn't find it too sweet, or sweet at all - nice and mellow, but not sweet. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Pretty good. I used 1 onion, not 2- just seemed like too much. I had to add some extra spices at toward the end of the cooking time as it seemed a bit bland. Will likely make again- maybe use a jar od sauce in place of the canned tomatoes as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Left out the green peppers, just not a fan of them in spaghetti sauce. Great recipe. Never would have thought to use stewed tomatoes.Thanks for posting:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Richmond, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 501) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Spaghetti with Buffalo Tomato Sauce

See how to make a simple spaghetti and meat sauce starring ground buffalo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States