Kay's Spaghetti and Lasagna Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Awesome!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TCmofo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
My Spaghetti prayers are answered! From the time my husband and I married 10 years ago, we could never find a spaghetti sauce we both liked. Thanks to this recipe, that is a thing of the past! This is absolutely so yummy! I've made it 4 times now and always bag the extra in freezer bags, thaw it in warm water, and have unbelievably wonderful pasta in about 30 minutes on busy days. Each batch makes enough for about 4 dinners in our small family of three. I follow the recipe with the exception of cutting out a little bit of the onion and pepper. I also let it simmer on the stove for hours for the best depth of flavor. Everyone who has had it at our house, LOVES it! So grateful the spaghetti dilemma in our house is over!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
WOW!! This IS the best! I did edit the receipe with the following: used fresh basil, fresh cilantro, dried rosemary, dried thyme and mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
This was the blandest pasta sauce I have ever tried. Followed the recipe to the letter. Way too much water based veggies. One onion and one sweet pepper would have been sufficient I don't usually follow any particular recipe when making pasta sauce. I'd just thought I would try this but won't again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
I added 1 green and 1 red pepper because that's what I had on hand and 2 small cans of tomato paste to thicken the sauce. I also added 2 tsp of parsley and skipped the salt & pepper. The sugar is needed to counter the acid of the tomatoes. I think the longer you simmer the sauce the better it tastes. So good the next day! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATKOMP

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I added pork meatballs, and some Italian sausage mild and hot.. 3 mild and 2 hot. I also added some Italian seasonings to mine.. It was very good both ways. But my house full of boys wanted more meat!! I didn't add the sugar though, they aren't too keen on sweet sauces, but it was still a very good recipe to start with and make my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
This sauce had good flavor, but came out a little watery. I think I would add a small can of tomato paste to try to thicken it up a little. We also added some additional herbs (marojam, thyme, rosemary).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Fantastic! Wouldn't change a thing. Don't give 5 stars easily but this deserves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Ad extra fresh basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Hayden Denehy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
This was a great recipe and was a huge hit at dinner. I did make a few changes which I think made this dish even more tasty and even easier. Instead of stewed tomatoes and crushed tomatoes, I substituted that for one 32 ounce bottle of Marinara Sauce. This bottle had basil in it so I cut back slightly on the dried basil from the recipe. I also cut back the sugar to 1 tablespoon and also only used 1 bell pepper and 1 Onion. I adjusted the salt and pepper at the end and it was super! I served it with black linguine but any pasta would work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 495) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Spaghetti with Buffalo Tomato Sauce

See how to make a simple spaghetti and meat sauce starring ground buffalo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States