Kay's Spaghetti and Lasagna Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I only had crushed tomatoes. This was delicious! I'll use it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRodMc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Changes to recipes are all a matter of personal taste and preference. This sauce was delicious. If anybody has been making this for 100 years they must be very old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadene Kretschmann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mindy Frosto Swank
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
So easy to make! I only used one onion and did not use the bell pepper since I was making the sauce for lasagna; I did add some red pepper flakes....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Frosto Swank

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I used ground turkey and added red pepper flakes.. Came out delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
I made this with no-salt added, diced tomatoes. My changes: 1 lrg onion, 1 bell pepper and 1 tablespoon sugar. I didn't use any meat just made the sauce. This made a very good base sauce on which to build off of. For a NO salt sauce it is very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eddie Watson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Church Point, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Erath, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Very good. The first time I made it I followed the recipe exactly. Tasty but the second time I used only one green pepper ,ground turkey instead of beef, and add a can of tomato paste to the turkey onion and pepper before adding other ingredients. This is a great sauce !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eilyncueto89
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I loved the recipe. But just like other reviewers, I did a little tweaking. I added 1 tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce, 1 bay leaf, 1/4 of a cup of red cooking wine, 1/3 of a cup of water and simmered for only 30 min. If sauce gets too try add some tomato sauce and a bit more of wine. I also added some freshly grated Parmesan cheese, mozzarella cheese and mixed all together while mixture was still on pan. Overall it's a great meaty sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Great recipe! My changes included using ground turkey (my friend asked me if I used sausage or ground beef, he couldn't even tell). After adding the meat I let it simmer until most of the liquid evaporated. Then I added a cup of red wine. Wait until it evaporates and then add the tomatoes. I also used red bell peppers (they were on sale). Forgot the sugar. Overall a great meat sauce, and healthier with the ground turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kayla
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I love this recipe! I added more sugar so a sweeter sauce. But so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
The sauce was watery and lacked flavor. I ended up adding another pound of ground beef & quite a bit of additional seasoning. Even after all the "doctoring" it still seemed to be lacking in flavor. The biggest problem for us was the sauce did not cling to the spaghetti at all. I saved the sauce and plan on adding some tomato paste to the leftovers in order to give the sauce some substance and depth of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 498) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Spaghetti with Buffalo Tomato Sauce

See how to make a simple spaghetti and meat sauce starring ground buffalo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States