Kay's Spaghetti and Lasagna Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
this sauce is sooo yummy, ive been making it for awhile already. But i decided to do it a little different this time. I browned the beef,onion,garlic, and pepper together, and threw all the ingredients together into the slowcooker. I used one can of crushed tomatoes, 1 can of diced italian tomatoes, and one can of tomato sauce. Let it slow cook on low for 5 hours, with a tad bit of water. Then tossed with pasta later and topped with parm cheese. It was sooo wonderful, when you let it cook on low for a long time the flavor is just wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
713 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wifeyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
This is the best homemade sauce I have ever had! It is also much better than anything you can get in the store, but then again, it is homemade. I left out the green pepper, because I didnt have any on hand, and used only diced tomatoes, because once again, that was all I had. I also left out the sugar all together and added a can of tomato sauce (I dont care for the taste of tomato paste), 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes and a pinch of baking soda to take out some of the acidity, which ends up turning the acid to sugar and makes it taste a bit sweeter so it doesnt need the sugar after all! Wonderfull recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
348 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whatarat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paragonah, Utah, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2004
I made this last night to go along with baked ziti. It was delicious. Although I did make several changes. I used only 1 onion, 1 tsp. of brown sugar, 1 green bell pepper. I also added mushrooms along with 1 red & yellow bell pepper. I used 1/2 ground beef & 1/2 italian sausage & added a little bit of crushed red pepper. I let it simmer for about an hour & perfecto!! This is great to use as a base recipe. You can add or take away from based on your personal preferences. Thanks Sheri!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
241 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2005
I used this recipe for lasagna. It is delicious! I made the sauce in the slow cooker the night before and let it cook for 4 hours. I added one tablespoon of brown sugar as suggested by the other reviewers. I took leftovers to my parent and they asked for the recipe! Thanks for sharing a terrific sauce that is already added to my recipe binder!!!! I'm looking forward to making another batch to freeze so it will be ready whenever I need it. PS-I used 2 cans of tomato sauce and two cans of whole tomatoes blended them up together; omitted the green peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2002
Absolutely the best and easiest sauce I've ever tried. Like some previous reviewers, I cut the sugar in half and added a can of tomato paste. I also had to leave the bell peppers out because my husband doesn't like them (but I'll make it WITH them when he's out of town). Great sauce!! I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
Yum! I made this for my husband's birthday dinner and he loved it. I will cut back on the sugar next time, it was a touch too sweet for me. I did add crushed red pepper to spice it up a bit and let it simmer for a couple of hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Very nice recipe. My secret weapon was a dash of cinnamon. Only a dash though! I didn't blend the tomatoes together, but I did chop up the stewed tomatoes. I added a tbsp. of white sugar, and dark brown sugar. I also added tomato sauce (to taste). It needs salt and pepper for sure, and I added a few shakes of red pepper flakes. It kept simmering and I kept adding more basil and oregano to taste. A bay leaf is nice too. Will make again, and will tinker with it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OhSoLittleMouse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
GREAT! Picky 11-year old enjoyed it. I took the advice of using 1 tbsp sugar and adding a can of tomato paste. Also, only used 1 onion and 1 bell pepper and almost a 1 1/2 of hamburger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orofino, Idaho, USA
Living In: Port Ludlow, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2002
This was a great spegetti sauce. Easy to prepare and my kids loved it. I don't have a blender so the tomatoes were a little big, but still all in all great stuff!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
I have tried MANY recipes trying to find a good marinara sauce that everyone in my family would like and I have finally found it. I would cut back on the sugar and bell pepper next time, though, but it was the best so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 492) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Spaghetti with Buffalo Tomato Sauce

See how to make a simple spaghetti and meat sauce starring ground buffalo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States