Kay's Spaghetti and Lasagna Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
02/25/2012 I made this recipe today & we LOVED IT!! I did make some ajusments due to what I had. I made a large batch. So I used 1 lb.gr.beef & 1 lb. reg sausage browned in skillet with 1large white onion & 1 large gr.pepper. While that was browning I put in food processor Diced Fire Roasted Tomatoes(2cans) 2 reg cans diced tomatoes & chopped it down cause my husband doesnt like chunks of tomatoes. Poured all that into a crockpot. Added a large can of tomatoe sauce I did use the basil & oregano as recipe called for & I used 2TBSP Brown Sugar instead of white. I used some Mrs.Dash in the garlic blend because I had no fresh garlic as recipe called for. I cooked on low setting for 5 hours. I think maybe it would of been fine at 4hours. Just make sure you use enough tomatoes to cover all of your meat mixture. Large batch but we will freeze some of it. I usually use jar spaghetti sauce & doctor it all up but when I got this email from Allrecipes I just had to try. Fantastic!!! I WILL be making this for years to come now!! Make sure to read other reviews cause ALOT of people have good ideas. TB From New Sharon,Iowa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I find the comments others make on how they changed the recipe to be just fine. Helps me make decisions on how to cook or even if I want to try the recipe (I don't bother to look at the number of stars given). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
My family loved this spaghetti sauce! I will make it again for just the adults in the house and instead of sugar, grate some carrot in the mix when browning the veggies (for sweetness), add a cup of port wine and some red pepper flakes and give it some zing. My kids don't eat spicy. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This recipe is almost like the one I have made for years. The only thing different is that I use 1 can of tomato sauce and 1 can of diced tomatoes and not so much sugar. 1 tsp. Will try this one and compare. I also add medium or hot Italian sausage meat with the ground beef to give it some zing and fresh or canned mushrooms. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I tried this yesterday with a few minor adjustments and thought it was really good. I used all diced tomatoes because thats all I had, and added in 1 6oz can tomato paste to help thicken it. I didn't add the green pepper to it, and added a little bit more sugar than the recipe said. got compliments all around for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathy_med
Home Town: Valenzuela, National Capital Region, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
A good spaghetti sauce. I followed the recipe with one exception - I used a 15 oz. can of Italian tomatoes because it's what I had. If I make this again, I think the recipe could stand for one 28 oz. can to be Italian blend tomatoes, just for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
just average, I found it too thin. And bland.sorry....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
This is a very simple recipe. I changed the ground beef with ground Italian Sausage. This gave it more of an Italian flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saginaw, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
The sauce is even better if the sugar is left out. Most canned tomato's are sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 487) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Spaghetti with Buffalo Tomato Sauce

See how to make a simple spaghetti and meat sauce starring ground buffalo.

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States