Kay's Spaghetti and Lasagna Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Brooke'smom
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I am sorry to give this recipe a 3 star review but I was so disappointed with this recipe. My husband enjoyed it but I think he was being kind. The flavor was lacking and the bell pepper was way overpowering not in flavor but in overall texture. I am sorry to say I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke'smom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Great recipe. I am a vegetarian and I added Morning Star meal starters crumbles and added ricotta cheese (I made Lasagna). I am going to try this sauce for the "tomato chicken parmesan" without using the crumbles and using this sauce instead for 12oz jar sauce. I am confident it will turn out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I may never buy spaghetti sauce again. It was easy and tasted awesome. I used the suggestion to slow cook it in the crock pot and it was wonderful. I did not blend it either as I like it "chunky" .. perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelz1965

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Lebanon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Eaton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Loved this and so did my family. I used one onion and one bell, tomoato paste and italian sausage. Kept the sugar and didn't think it was too sweet. My son, who does not like jar spaghetti sauce, actually liked this one a lot. Finally a an easy homeade spaghetti sauce - I will make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Good, but needs mushrooms and red wine! No sugar please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Didn't find this sauce very exciting..too sweet for my taste...I enjoyed the freshness though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
This sauce recipe was amazing! I made it for my boyfriend's birthday and now he says we can't eat spaghetti (or pasta for that matter) any other way! As other users have mentioned, we added tomato paste to thicken the sauce, and we did not blend the tomatoes to keep the sauce chunky. We added extra garlic, spices, and sprinkled parsley flakes on top close to when the sauce was ready for serving. Instead of two tablespoons of white sugar, I used a dash of white sugar and a few splashes of red wine to taste, as recommended by other users. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I'm Italian and I find myself refering to this recipe often! Its a really good base. Sometimes we use ground turkey instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
All it needed was a hint of nutmeg and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
TRY 2 TEASPOONS OF CRUSHED ANISE ADDED, MAKES ALL THE DIFFERENCE TO THIS BASIC SAUCE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 488) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Spaghetti with Buffalo Tomato Sauce

See how to make a simple spaghetti and meat sauce starring ground buffalo.

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States