Kay's Spaghetti and Lasagna Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
This is an awesome recipe. I only made a few changes due to what I had on hand. I used 1 regular size can of diced tomatoes with garlic and oregano, 2 regular size cans of tomato sauce and 1 regular size can of tomato paste. Everyone raved about it! I made it up on a Saturday night, put in the fridge and then put it in the crock pot before going to church. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
A little bland. I used 1.5 tbs of sugar and really liked the sweetness, but my husband said he could do without it. I had to add more basil and oregano, also added some red pepper flakes. I loath bell peppers so used mushrooms and turkey instead of beef. Next time I will only use 1/2-1 tbs of sugar and add more garlic. After the additions, the sauce turned out very amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This is the best sauce I've ever made. My husband always tells me my sauce tastes like compared to his mothers. When I made this he said "Wow! This is just as good if not better than Mom's!" So, I will use this over and over. I'm making for the 2nd time right now, didnt have any stewed tomatoes so I'm using two cans of chopped, I blended one and kept the other the way it was out of the can, I think the little pieces of tomato add a dimension to the sauce. Thanks for this recipe, it's so wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
A really good sauce. Our family thought it was a little too sweet, so I will decrease the sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
This has become my "go to" spaghetti sauce recipe. The only thing I do different (but definitely isn't necessary) is double the recipe and use 1# ground beef and 1# ground pork. Perfect sauce recipe and easily adapts to whatever veggies you choose to put in or omit. Thank you for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanette Steiner Grayhek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
This was pretty good and my family loved it. I didn't add green peppers and I only used one onion. Next time I will use a little more salt and I might try a little red pepper flakes for a kick. This is a good basic recipe that can be easily tweaked to your families taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
This was amazing. I too made some alterations for my pallet. I used turkey, increased teh garlic, decreased the sugar, and added mushrooms and tomato paste. YUM thank you for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
This recipe is simple and delicious for a good basic pasta sauce. I have been buying Newman's own for years because my husband thought it tasted just as good as home made. When I made this sauce last night he said it was better than out of a jar! Trust me, that is high praise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
The Best !! The taste is just how I remember my Italian grandmother's spaghetti sauce. Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe -- it is the one and only I will make for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
nancysj - this sauce actually turns out really well if you read other people's suggestions below. i gave this two stars because i did a lot of modifications - i believe that a recipe can only be rated high based on the ORIGINAL recipe, not on modifications. this might be why it's gotten such a high rating. anyways, i combined a bunch of reviewers' ideas into one. first of all, i used 14 oz cans instead of the 28 oz, and i thought it was plenty saucy. instead of stewed tomatoes, i used a can of pureed tomatoes plus a 6 oz can of tomato paste to thicken the sauce. i only used 1 tbsp of sugar which i felt like was plenty, and i only used 1 bell pepper. instead of ground beef i used a pound of chicken sausage (casings removed). it came out pretty flavorful - next time i'm going to add more oregano and some rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 504) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Spaghetti with Buffalo Tomato Sauce

See how to make a simple spaghetti and meat sauce starring ground buffalo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States