Kay's Spaghetti and Lasagna Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
This was amazing. I too made some alterations for my pallet. I used turkey, increased teh garlic, decreased the sugar, and added mushrooms and tomato paste. YUM thank you for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
This recipe is simple and delicious for a good basic pasta sauce. I have been buying Newman's own for years because my husband thought it tasted just as good as home made. When I made this sauce last night he said it was better than out of a jar! Trust me, that is high praise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
The Best !! The taste is just how I remember my Italian grandmother's spaghetti sauce. Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe -- it is the one and only I will make for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
nancysj - this sauce actually turns out really well if you read other people's suggestions below. i gave this two stars because i did a lot of modifications - i believe that a recipe can only be rated high based on the ORIGINAL recipe, not on modifications. this might be why it's gotten such a high rating. anyways, i combined a bunch of reviewers' ideas into one. first of all, i used 14 oz cans instead of the 28 oz, and i thought it was plenty saucy. instead of stewed tomatoes, i used a can of pureed tomatoes plus a 6 oz can of tomato paste to thicken the sauce. i only used 1 tbsp of sugar which i felt like was plenty, and i only used 1 bell pepper. instead of ground beef i used a pound of chicken sausage (casings removed). it came out pretty flavorful - next time i'm going to add more oregano and some rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
very good, excelent flavor, easy to make. will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Wayne, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I don't usually review recipes, but after making this, I just had to. This is the best sauce I've ever eaten. So very much better than jar sauce any day of the week. I made it almost just like the recipe says except used 1 onion and 1 green pepper and had to use diced tomatoes instead of stewed because that's the only kind I had. I'm going to make it just like she says next time. It is TERRIFIC!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
YIKES! 2 whole tablespoons of sugar? I'm thinking the onions give you sugar - so would the addition of some carrots and grated raw beets. Then you're adding actual nutrition - a happy trade off for those extra carbs. No veggies in the bin? Try adding a single teaspoon of sugar. Maybe a little milk. Far as I reckon, Sauce isn't meant to taste like ice cream. I'd boost the oregano 2 or 3 times, as well as the basil. Garlic sounds right. Try using a can of tomato puree instead of the stewed tomatoes, and don't bother blending anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
My only problems with this recipe was that I felt it called for too much bell pepper. I added an extra pound of ground beef because I love meaty sauces and I've often found that most spaghetti sauces don't have as much ground beef as I enjoy. However even with that extra pound of beef, all the bell pepper made for a "crunchy" sauce. Smelled delicious while cooking, but the end results were disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kcgreg

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Madera, California, USA
Living In: South Padre Island, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I love cooking Italian, and when I saw this recipe had to try it. This may be a new fav!! I used 1 box of chopped tomatoes and a small tube of tomato paste. I also decided to use half ground beef and half bulk Italian sausage (would try to find spicy next time but regular was fine) and also added mushrooms, because I like them and also like lots of veggies. It was awesome! I put it over spinach fettucini because I like the visual of the red sauce and green noodles....YUMMY! Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I am Italian and come from a big family of great Italian-American cooks. I never heard of making homemade sauce using stewed tomatoes, so I tried this recipe out of curiosity....not a favorite, sorry. I suggest using the crushed tomatoes, tomato puree (in place of stewed tomatoes), a small tomato paste and then fill paste can with warm water, and add that as well. My family does put 2 TBSP sugar in our sauce recipe, but stewed tomatoes already have sugar added, so maybe this is why others have said this is too sweet? And always start your sauce by sauteing the fresh garlic with about 1/4 c. olive oil, that gives the sauce a wonderful taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corvette Girl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 488) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Spaghetti with Buffalo Tomato Sauce

See how to make a simple spaghetti and meat sauce starring ground buffalo.

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States