Kay's Spaghetti and Lasagna Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Fantastic! Wouldn't change a thing. Don't give 5 stars easily but this deserves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Ad extra fresh basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
This was a great recipe and was a huge hit at dinner. I did make a few changes which I think made this dish even more tasty and even easier. Instead of stewed tomatoes and crushed tomatoes, I substituted that for one 32 ounce bottle of Marinara Sauce. This bottle had basil in it so I cut back slightly on the dried basil from the recipe. I also cut back the sugar to 1 tablespoon and also only used 1 bell pepper and 1 Onion. I adjusted the salt and pepper at the end and it was super! I served it with black linguine but any pasta would work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This is the greatest spaghetti sauce! Is the best out of so many i have tried that didn't taste too much like jar sauce. I follow the recipe exactly though I do cut back on the onion for our preference. I have used this with the ground beef and also ground turkey and is great both ways. It is my favorite sauce and I will continue to make it. I will not buy jar sauce again. With the different types of tomatoes used, the texture and consistency is perfect. Spice is just right. I love to find these great kind of keepers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Elledge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Very good! I used Italian-seasoned ground turkey and pureed tomatoes, and skipped the blender. I let it simmer for around an hour. Needed quite a bit of salt, but that depends on how much salt is in your tomatoes. If you make it with turkey, you'll end up with a lot of water that needs to be cooked off/drained before you add the tomatoes, so allow time for that. (This is the nature of ground turkey, in my experience, and nothing to do with this recipe.) I used the full amount of sugar and didn't find it too sweet, or sweet at all - nice and mellow, but not sweet. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Pretty good. I used 1 onion, not 2- just seemed like too much. I had to add some extra spices at toward the end of the cooking time as it seemed a bit bland. Will likely make again- maybe use a jar od sauce in place of the canned tomatoes as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Left out the green peppers, just not a fan of them in spaghetti sauce. Great recipe. Never would have thought to use stewed tomatoes.Thanks for posting:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Richmond, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This is the best spaghetti sauce I have ever tried. It freezes well too.I will be making this again for sure. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MariyaR

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This was one of the best spaghetti sauce that I came across.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OolyndeoO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Yes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Divernon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 488) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Spaghetti with Buffalo Tomato Sauce

See how to make a simple spaghetti and meat sauce starring ground buffalo.

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States