Kay's Spaghetti and Lasagna Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Perfect! I've been looking for this recipe forever and am so glad the search is over. Only "tweak" I made was halving the recipe except for the beef and garlic, using stevia in place of the sugar, and then added 1/2 tsp. marjoram. Love, love, LOVE this! Won't be buying canned or jarred sauce anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Just what I needed in a quick sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I make this every few months and it is so worth it! You can't find a jarred sauce at the store that can beat this. Depending on my mood, I will add mushrooms, more garlic, port wine, etc... Sometimes I leave out the meat, whatever our tastes are at the time. It's a very versatile recipe and freezes very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irish Colleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Loved it... I made a huge batch and then froze the rest in meal sized portions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I've been using this recipe for quite a while -- it's a good base recipe that can be altered as you see fit. Cook all day in a crock pot, use beef broth instead of the liquid in the canned tomatoes, change up the meats (italian sausage, ground beef, ground turkey, ground venison, etc.), add veggies (mushrooms, peppers, etc)... the possibilities are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkpigeon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Campania, Italy
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Very good! I only had one 14 oz can of stewed tomatoes so I also used 2 small cans of tomato sauce. no green peppers but it was still very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
this sauce was okay in my opinion. i think if i make it again i will add some red wine and worchestershire sauce for some extra flavor. i used it to top spaghetti and i felt that it lacked flavor. i bet it would be better in lasagna where there are other flavors (ricotta, mozzarella) for it to combine with. thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Was good but i added garlic salt to it to give it a little more flavor and a little less sweetness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Excellent! Made as per the recipe. My husband hates tomatoes, but he LOVED this sauce! Reminded me of my Grandma's sauce. Will def use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
This was very good! I only had red pepper so I used that and added some chopped carrots too. Per another reviewer, I did not add the sugar but added a bit of baking soda and I added 1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes, which we thought was the perfect amount. I don't see a need for the sugar. Using canned tomatoes from last year's garden, I did add a small can of tomato paste (as they seem to be more "watery" than the canned ones in the store). I used this sauce for Stuffed Shells I on this site...wow, great combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 491) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Spaghetti with Buffalo Tomato Sauce

See how to make a simple spaghetti and meat sauce starring ground buffalo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States