Kay's Spaghetti and Lasagna Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This is awesome, I added a cup of red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
It's basic and delicious. The Italian recipe I got years ago had a secret ingredient in it, which, instead of sugar, called for sweet pickle relish in about the same quantity, a tablespoon or 2, depending on how a big a batch of sauce and how sweet/sour the tomatoes are. It makes the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morden, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I have been making this exact sauce for years. It is very good. This makes exactly 3 loaf dishes of sauce. I use glass. Since there are only 2 in our family, I freeze 2 of the loaf dishes and have sauce on hand whenever I need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I've been sneaking sugar into my spaghetti sauce for a long time. I think it helps offset the acid in the tomatoes, I learned not to tell people because I usually get eeeooo "sugar in spaghetti", my family doesn't know and they haven't complained about my sauce. It is good to get some validation from an actual Italian cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This sauce was perfect just the way you listed it. Didn't change a thing! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debbiemango

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This is MY recipe. I have always made spaghetti sauce like this. I guess I must have a pinch of Italian blood. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
My Italian family (mom-in-law and siblings) use carrots in place of the sugar. The sugar is used to cut the acidity of the tomatoes. Carrots do the same thing and are a bit healthier. A nandful of baby carrots does the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This recipe is almost identical to the spaghetti sauce which I have been making for my family for over 50 years. And my family thinks that it is the best spaghetti sauce ever. I think so too, of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bonnie13m

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Goodness, reading this recipe I thought, wow that sounds like MY spaghetti sauce! And yes, I make my sauce very similar, except I add 1 can of tomato paste for a thicker sauce. And I like to add fresh mushrooms and hot italian sausage. And a bit of crushed red pepper flakes to taste. I also add 1 cup of whatever wine I have on hand. I must say, this is the BEST spaghetti sauce I've ever tasted... even if I do say so myself! I've been told before that the sugar cuts out the bitterness of the acid from tomatoes, and helps explode all the yummy flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Another good hint if you don't want to use sugar is to add a carrott, either small baby ones or a large one split up the middle. The carrot adds natural sweetness to the sauce and was also from an old Italian lady who my mom got the secret from. The one who gets the carrott in their sauce is said to be going to have good luck!!! Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GBAYGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 499) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Spaghetti with Buffalo Tomato Sauce

See how to make a simple spaghetti and meat sauce starring ground buffalo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States