Kay's Spaghetti and Lasagna Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This is MY recipe. I have always made spaghetti sauce like this. I guess I must have a pinch of Italian blood. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
My Italian family (mom-in-law and siblings) use carrots in place of the sugar. The sugar is used to cut the acidity of the tomatoes. Carrots do the same thing and are a bit healthier. A nandful of baby carrots does the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This recipe is almost identical to the spaghetti sauce which I have been making for my family for over 50 years. And my family thinks that it is the best spaghetti sauce ever. I think so too, of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bonnie13m

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Goodness, reading this recipe I thought, wow that sounds like MY spaghetti sauce! And yes, I make my sauce very similar, except I add 1 can of tomato paste for a thicker sauce. And I like to add fresh mushrooms and hot italian sausage. And a bit of crushed red pepper flakes to taste. I also add 1 cup of whatever wine I have on hand. I must say, this is the BEST spaghetti sauce I've ever tasted... even if I do say so myself! I've been told before that the sugar cuts out the bitterness of the acid from tomatoes, and helps explode all the yummy flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Another good hint if you don't want to use sugar is to add a carrott, either small baby ones or a large one split up the middle. The carrot adds natural sweetness to the sauce and was also from an old Italian lady who my mom got the secret from. The one who gets the carrott in their sauce is said to be going to have good luck!!! Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GBAYGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This is a wonderful base recipe and one I have been making for years. I would definitely use diced tomatoes instead of stewed and skip the blender if you like it chunky, which we do. You can use ground beef, ground turkey, Italian sausage or a combination (or no meat at all). I cut the onion and pepper in half. Also 2 T sugar is way too much, unless you like it sweet. 1 T is plenty to cut the acidity. I love using fresh herbs instead of dried whenever possible and lots more of them. Add a bay leaf or two as well as some mushrooms and you have the perfect sauce. Sorry, I usually don't change recipes so much and then rate them but this one is just so versatile. Never thought of using a slow cooker before but I bet that would be wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This is the same recipe I learned as a child from Itailian wives in Newton Falls Ohio in 1948! I have so had so many compliments on it and it is so simple! Sometimes I add a little turkey sausage and it too is well received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I have been making my sauce this way for 25 years. The only change is to cook the green peppers until they are soft, put them in your blender then into the sauce. You need the green peppers for flavor. When the sauce is done let it sit for 24 hours to let the flavors blend. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Lobster Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sandwich, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Grew up on this recipe for over 50 years. Whrn I married an Italian his entire family tried to get this from me! The sugar cuts the acid. Its great! As with another reviewer stated the sugar can be adjusted to your tastes. Great meatless too, freezes well, so double, triple the recipe and freeze remaining for a quick weekday meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
very good base with minor changes to suit my taste: a little too sweet/would cut down the sugar next time. I added 2 TB olive oil (though I did use the meat) and 1 can of tomato paste to amp up the tomato flavor. I added mushrooms because we like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 494) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Spaghetti with Buffalo Tomato Sauce

See how to make a simple spaghetti and meat sauce starring ground buffalo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States