Kay's Shortbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
FANTASTIC! This is such an easy recipe... great for kids who want to get their hands dirty. And the result is decadent authentic shortbread. I will not have to spend my money on Walker's anymore to get a taste of real buttery shortbread. The first time I made it I used the round cake pan as suggested. That was a disaster, at least for me. The triangles fell apart on the cooling rack. The next time I used a square brownie pan and it worked great. It's also easier for me to cut into squares. One more tip -- you absolutely must cut the shortbread while it is still hot when it 'cuts like butter' as they say. Otherwise it is simply impossible to cut the shortbread after it has cooled off, unless you just want to have one really big piece of shortbread. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicole
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I've been looking for a good shortbread recipe for awhile now. This one is simple and pretty good. A little bland but drizzle a little chocolate on top and they're perfect! Next time I may add chocolate chips to the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
So much reward for so little effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
This is the BEST shortbread I have ever had! You have to mix it by hand... no cheating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
mmm really delish. the recipe takes a little tweaking as you go along making the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaitlynChapman

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
this is perfect as is. flaky, melt in your mouth good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
First time making shortbread, I used 3/4 cup powdered sugar and 1 tbsp milk. I underbaked these a bit in a 8x8 glass pan and they came out a little to dense on the inside and didn't crumble like the outside did. They were a light golden brown and maybe waiting a few more minutes could have made the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leadfoot13us

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Best shortbread ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
good, i made a batch and a half and baked it in a shortbread pan on parchment paper, pretty good. i liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIOSAILGIRL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
First time shortbread maker here, and they turned out fantastic! Thanks for the simple and delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States