Kay's Shortbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Made this recipe last year at Christmas--loved it. Per other reviewers, I did add an extra 1/4 C powdered sugar to the batter (also used the full 2T of sugar on the top). Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I love shortbread and this recipe is exactly what I was looking for, simple and delicious. It's what shortbread should be: buttery, not too sweet, and delicate! Thank you, Kay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This to me is not a short bread cookie. I did add some extra sugar on top, but it still tastes like dough. Just dough with a bit of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Martin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Pop and Bill liked this one a lot. It was just OK to me. I added chopped pecans and 1/4 C powdered sugar and 1/4 C milk. Next time try it rolled into a log and cut into cookies instead of pressed into a pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
This was spectacular and that really means something coming from someone that doesn't really like shortbread. I'll definitely make this again! I loved how delicate and flavorful the cookie was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by F9foodie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
These were wonderful, tasted even better the next day. I baked in a square glass pan, flipped out the shortbread and cut into small squares, then cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GoGo
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Shortbread cookies are my all time favorite and I am soo pleased at the result of this simple recipe... Buttery and sweet and great texture!! I added 4 tbls instead of 2 because i like em a little sweeter... and I only had an 8" pan so i cooked it for an additional 10 min bc of the extra thickness!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoGo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
FANTASTIC! This is such an easy recipe... great for kids who want to get their hands dirty. And the result is decadent authentic shortbread. I will not have to spend my money on Walker's anymore to get a taste of real buttery shortbread. The first time I made it I used the round cake pan as suggested. That was a disaster, at least for me. The triangles fell apart on the cooling rack. The next time I used a square brownie pan and it worked great. It's also easier for me to cut into squares. One more tip -- you absolutely must cut the shortbread while it is still hot when it 'cuts like butter' as they say. Otherwise it is simply impossible to cut the shortbread after it has cooled off, unless you just want to have one really big piece of shortbread. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicole
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I've been looking for a good shortbread recipe for awhile now. This one is simple and pretty good. A little bland but drizzle a little chocolate on top and they're perfect! Next time I may add chocolate chips to the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
So much reward for so little effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States