Kay Dee's Recipe for Potato Latkes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Very excellent recipe! Worked wonderfully, turned out very tasty & crisp. Only thing I will say is I had to use a LOT more than 2 tablespoons of flour- though that could just be my preference. I was very pleased with how this turned out, they taste just like I remember them. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
These are very close to the original recipe. The only thing I would do would use matzo meal instead of flour. It really does make a big difference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I thought theses were delicious. I used a gluten free flour mix, but it took way more than two tbsp of flour to make the potatoes stick together. Also, before adding the other ingredients, I rinsed the potatoes and onions in water and let drain, so some of the the starch was removed. I used to see both my grandmothers do this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This is the best latke recipe I've tried and it's the easiest too. I took others' advice and used matzo meal, as I had some on hand, and just added it until I had the consistency I wanted. I usually drain the potatoes and onions, but decided not to. It left the mix really soupy, but I just grabbed a bunch of mix and squeezed the excess liquid out. By keeping it all in the liquid, it actually kept the mixture from turning that ugly brown that it usually does. Needless to say, I've found my new recipe that I will use from here on out! My husband tasted and said they are the best I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Way too much egg for the amount of potatoes, I tried again using 1 egg and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Sorry but we thought that these were bland. If I make them again I would probably tweak them and them and add some parmesan or maybe some jalapeno. Thanks for posting the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Great recipe! They were easy to make, and turned out just like the latkes I used to eat as a kid. I did add extra flour though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
I love this recipe! It always pleases a crowd, I usually make the recipe as is but on occasion I add shredded cheddar to it. It's amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bellaire, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
EXCELLANT I make this recipe with one tweak... I do not drain my potatoes, result: crisp, crispy thin patties, so crunchy & when eaten with catsup are ALMOST as good as served traditionally!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
These were featured on the Better Show today! So yummy. A classic latke recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusannahLocketti

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Potato Latkes

Use your food processor to make potato latkes the easy way.

Potato Latkes I

Watch how to make these top-rated potato latkes.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States