Katy's Scalloped Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
The brand of creamed corn will make a huge difference in the result of any scalloped corn recipe. I always use Del Monte and always have great success with a nice creamy consistency, good flavor and no watery separation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buffy Ehlers Whitney

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Streator, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
This is my fav version of scalloped corn. I added an additional can of corn to the recipe and about 1/4 to a 1/2 cup of heavy cream to keep it really moist and creamy. It was excellet. So many holiday memories are in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roscoe, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
I don't like 'conventional' scalloped corn. Your recipe was exactly what I was looking for! The only thing I did differently was adding some cajun seasoning...but, only because it went with the rest of the meal I was preparing...it turned out great!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I can't have corn but I made it for hubby as written.He says it gets 4 stars and believe me from DH that's quite a compliment! thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
I was anticipating a nice creamy scalloped corn casserole, but what I ended up with, unfortunately, was a watery casserole. I cooked this for an additional 25 minutes hoping that the liquid would cook down, but it didn't. Basically, I don't think this tasted much different than if I'd just heated all ingredients in a saucepan on top of the stove and then sprinkled with the crackers before serving. I followed this recipe to the letter, but I would definitely make some changes if I were to make again. First, I'd increase the oven temperature to 375 or even 400. Then I'd cut the butter and oil in half (you really don't need a 1/4 cup of fat to saute the small amount of veggies). Also, from a presentation point of view, a little bit of butter on top of the crumbs would brown them and make the casserole more eye appealing. And a little bit of salt and pepper wouldn't hurt either. This simply didn't measure up to what I consider scalloped corn. Kitkaty, sorry for the harsh review, but this just didn't work for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
My family LOVES this recipe. I really wouldn't change a thing. We have it every Thanksgiving and we DON'T have leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheshops2much

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This was a great change from the traditional scalloped corn I've had. I had to change this recipe a bit as I was out of egg, so I omitted the egg, added 2 Tbsp. sour cream and added a extra 1/4 cup cheese. I also added garlic cloves to the celery,onion & green peppers. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovemyscents

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
This is just what I have been looking for, my mother makes something similar, she just adds a little salt and pepper. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2000
My family did not like this. It was not creamy at all and did not have much flavor. Not pleasing to the eye.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
My family love it! I omited the green peppers and added 1/4 cup of sour cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Alvarado, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States