Katrina's Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Very nice cake! I had 3 overripe bananas, and I felt like using them in something today instead of tossing them in the freezer like I do half the time. I had everything called for in this recipe, so I happily mixed away. Turned out perfectly baked in 45 minutes (amazing! My oven NEVER bakes it at the time directed!) and was very moist and flavorful. Doesn't need frosting or anything. Hubs enjoyed, as did our dog (he loves bananas, and was begging . . .). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2005
This was excellent - with and without the coffee! Very moist and wonderful flavor! I had just shy of 1c. evap milk, so topped it off with half-and-half. I will make this again often. A nice chocolate glaze on top would be a perfect addition, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
I made a double batch, used two 9.5X13 pyrex baking dishes, cut the baking time down a full ten minutes. Cake in both dishes were moist and friends gave high ratings for the texture and flavor. I live in a Senior Apartment Building where we pay for a daily lunch. I gave our Head cook a copy of the receipe plus a large sample of the cake. She was very surprise afterr reading the receipe and then tasting the actual cake. I am hoping now that will one of these days she will serve this banana cake as a dessert to the rest of residents in my Apartment complex. Dave Poletti
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
This recipe is absoulutely wonderful!! Basic ingredients come together to make a great tasting, not too sweet, exceedingly moist cake. I did leave out the walnuts and topped the cake with chocolate frosting and chopped peanuts. Definitely five stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
This cake was delicious. Instead of using a tube pan (or bundt pan, for us laypeople), I used two 9" rounds and baked for about 25 minutes. Once they cooled, I iced them with a cream cheese icing I found on another site. Very moist. Would make again instead of banana bread next time I have overripe bananas on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eva
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
What a great recipe! Amazingly moist and sweet but not too sweet. I drizzled it with cream cheese icing and some chopped pecans (see my photo) and served it at a get-together. There was NOTHING left! I will absolutely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
WHY-YOU-EMM! YUM!!! Sorry had to spell that out to get the point across! I also made this with a coffee-butter chocolate frosting, couldn't have been better, it was truly a coffee cake. Will definately make again when I have the ingredients on hand. Oh yeah, and I opted out of the walnuts. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MummyJacks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Cochrane, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Really, really good! Pleasantly sweet: somewhere between a bread and a cake, so that you can eat a piece for breakfast, or serve it after dinner (or... eat it for snack, anytime!). Nice! Made a couple key changes... (1) Substitute 1 3/4Cup all-purpose flour + 3/4Cup cornstarch (yes, cornstarch!) for the 2Cups cake flour (which I never have!). Googled this substitute. (2) Increased vanilla to 1 tsp (1/2 tsp just not enough for this large batter... prob could have used even more!?). (3) 1Cup smashed bananas are approx. 3 medium. Good 'n black... that's what I say! (4) Chopped walnuts kind of small. (5) Used a greased 9" x 13" pan (didn't have a tube/Bundt pan!, and decreased bake time by 7 mins, and let cool in the pan. Really came out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I used all butter and I added 1 tsp. cinnamon and 1/2 tsp nutmeg. This did need another 1/2 c. of cake flour only because this batter was really wet. I had some maple granola I wanted to use, so I sprinkled it over the top of each loaf before baking. Otherwise, I made no other changes. I baked this divided into two loaf pans as to give them for gifts for Christmas. I'll update my review when I hear back how it went over. NOTE: One box of Softasilk cake flour is the perfect amount for six loaves of this cake, 2 1/2 c. of flour for each batch. This is also good using buttermilk instead of evaporated milk, if you ran out by the third batch like I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I don't know why but it was very dry? I'm not using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States