Kathy's Southern Corn Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
Wonderful, but I'll probably cut down on the sigar next time. Both of my kids gobbled it up - me too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
YUM!! This is by far the best corn casserole I've ever had! I"ll be making it for the holidays this year. DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
WE LOVE THIS DISH!!! I've made it 3x already and everyone absolutely loves it. It's the perfect side dish. You can prepare it ahead of time, then stick it in the oven and "fuhgetaboutit"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Chantilly, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
This is outstanding. We've made it twice so far for pot lucks and have had several requests for the recipe. Highly recommended. Jerry, Hampton, TN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Yes, a southern favorite....as a dessert. My friend makes a great version of this and taught me the recipe, except she doesn't measure!!! So, I had to get my own measurements. These are pretty close, except I use about 3/4 cup of white sugar, or sometimes 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/4 cup light brown. Also I use evaporated milk for a creamier pudding. Flour works fine if you are out of cornstarch. Also a few flaor enhancing spices....1/2 teaspoon cinnamon, 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg. Best thing about this is that it's a "dump" recipe - mix in one bowl and bake slowly. Enjoy with a cup of coffee for breakfast too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This turned out well. It was a great addition to our Easter Dinner. I did modify this slightly though. I cut the butter to just 1/4 cup, the sugar to 1/3 cup. I sprinkled some nutmeg and a little cinnamon on it as well. Baked it in a round dish instead of the 9 x 13, at 400 degrees because that was the time for the other 2 dishes that needed to go in the oven and just kept checking on it to make sure that it wasn't burning or to check when it was done. I received various complements on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
It seems that this dish is often served at church functions in NC. It is so good! I made this for my family this week and EVERYONE loved it (even my 2 yr old grand-daughter). The only thing was it had a bit more liquid than it should have. I drained the corn and baked it all for 90 mins., but still watery. I drained the casserole and baked it a bit more and it was great. I also added a little bit of black pepper. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vera B.
Home Town: Rougemont, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I searched for a sweet corn casserole that I remember having a long time ago, and this is it! I'd really like to give this 4 1/2 stars because it tastes delicious, but I think it would be better in a round casserole dish (like in the picture) as opposed to the 9x13 mentioned in the recipe. The 9x13 made it too thin, although it still took the same amount of time to bake. One other thing - it doesn't puff up like it says in the instructions. Overall, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This is it! I have been looking for this for a while! I lost my recipe a while back and could kick myself! It is a huge favorite of my family's and I was the only one who had it! Like another reviewer, I too use flour instead of cornstarch and like evap milk. Just a hint of nutmeg is corn puddings best friend! Thanks to Kathy! And Jacquita for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
The best corn pudding recipe. I'm a southern girl, but my family never made corn pudding. I got introduced to it by my mother in law. Her recipe was always missing something...the corn starch. This is my new recipe...I use it for every holiday and there are no left overs. In our house, it isn't served as a dessert, but right along with the other side dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chastity

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Cream Corn Like No Other

See how to make the tastiest creamed corn of your life. Way better than canned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States