Kathy's Southern Corn Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Nice enough. Our casserole thickened up just fine. My family thought this was nice. They liked it more than I did. They wouldn't complain one whit about having this again, and with its being corn and all, it could easily become comfort food to them. HOWEVER they are not utterly in love with any creamed corn casserole. I typically adore southern cooking, so I couldn't resist trying a southern styled corn pudding. I guess there is still northerner left in me, as I couldn't help comparing this to my grandmother's corn casserole. Sho' nuf, I missed my grandmother's savory corn casserole, stuffed to the gills with butter, eggs and crackers and her best seasonings. I never cared for anyone else's corn casserole (and I'm usually pretty happy with anything related to corn). I'm sure that's just a preference thing on my part, though. Hmmmm, just to see what they think of Grandma's cooking, and because we still have a few extra-large sized cans of creamed corn, I think I'll finally have to break down and make that very calorie laden casserole my grandmother, then mother, made for Thanksgiving every year...., but I'll pass on having it at Thanksgiving, because I'll be saving all my extra splurge calories for turkey, gravy, mashed potatoes and dressing, and then pumpkin pie and chocolaty treats!..... ummmm, I can hardly wait!) -- I better watch out, though. My family might start making Grandma's casserole and I'll have to stop eating it somehow! Yikes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
This turned out great, used flour instead of cornstarch and put in the crockpot on low for a couple of hours. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VALISME
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Good comfort food! I added a dash of nutmeg, cloves, and cinnamon, which changed the color, but made my kitchen smell like a chai tea was "brewing" in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Boquete, Chiriquí, Panama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Absolutely delicious! My family's favorite at Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison85
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I made this dish yesterday for my family and we all LOVED IT! I did sprinkle some Nutmeg to the top of this dish and that made it wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Yummy!! I just cut down on the sugar a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This was entirely too sweet. It also HAS to cook for the entire recommended time. It was still too soupy for my liking. I guess my search for the perfect corn casserole continues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Delicious! I mixed the ingredients together the evening before, and baked it the next day! The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Very good! I followed the recipe exactly. The flavor was outstanding. The texture was a little unusual, with a watery liquid at the bottom of the casserole. DMIL loved the texture. DH and DD were not so ethusiastic. I will try this again, replacing the milk with evaporated milk or half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Cream Corn Like No Other

See how to make the tastiest creamed corn of your life. Way better than canned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States