Kathy's Roast and Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2002
This one is a winner! Browning the meat before putting it in the slowcooker adds a lot of flavor, and it prevents the meat from totally shrivelling up. Also, I mixed the soups in the pan I browned the meat in to get more flavor (and I didn't want to waste the meat juices). Even my super-picky husband gobbled it down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
Overall tasty! Here are some mods I made. I used sirloin tip roast b/c it was on sale. After I seared the meat, I couldn't let all the yummy bits on the bottom of the pot go to waste, so I deglazed the pan using some red wine and added that to the mix. I also added mushrooms & celery and a 1/2 cup of red wine. I also used 1 can of Roasted Garlic Mushroom soup and 1 can of lower fat regular Mushroom soup. The meat came out so incredibly fork tender! Like with other reviewers, I ended up with lots of juice. Served it over wide egg noodles. One word=HEARTY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HLACKERM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
This had a simple, yet very full and delicious flavor. This is a great recipie to use with a lean meat becaue the meat truely is a tender as butter when you're done. The vegetables were delicious too. I added a little bit of water in the beginning because the soup looked to thick, but it watered down the gravy a little. This recipie is perfect the way it is, don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2003
this was by far the easiest and most delicious recipie I've ever made. It took about a half an hour to throw together in the morning, kept it off until I was ready to walk out the door, fliped it to low, and 8 hours later we had a delicious pot roast. I made egg noodles and mashed potatoes to go with it, but the potatoes weren't necesary. between the veggies, noodles and meat, we were to stuffed for the potatoes. I added a few diced mushrooms to the gravy, added red wine to the gravy like someone had suggested, I didn't put potatoes in because I made mashed potatoes, but I added 2 red onions, parsnips and Carrots. This was DELICIOUS and I can't recommend this recipe enough!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2004
Easy and satisfying. I used chuck, skipped the browning (the sauce and long cook time seemed like it would make this unnecessary, and it was), and added fresh mushrooms. The gravy was very soupy, and there was a lot of it, so at the end I took the meat and veggies out, stirred in about 3 or 4 Tbs cornstarch mixed with a little cold water, and that thickened it into a perfect, thick gravy. Which we sopped up with crusty french rolls. This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeside, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
This is my first attempt at a pot roast and I am SO impressed! Here's what I did: I rubbed the roast with garlic powder, used 2 cans of Campbell's cream of mushroom with roasted garlic, one packet of Lipton's beefy onion soup mix, used the stated amount of veggies, and cooked in my crock on high for 5 hours. The end result was outstanding. The veggies were tender crisp, and the roast was tender and delicious. What a gravy this one makes! Thank you thank you thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
I had never used a round roast until I made this recipe. It was fantastic. Even better as leftovers. I added 1 tsp. fresh garlic; 1 small can of beef broth and 2 tsp. Emeril's spices for flavor. I did not want a thick gravy and it was perfect. I added 2 onions cut in quarters and 1 bag of mini carrots with about 3 hours left of cooking to avoid the mush factor. The potatoes I put in 1 hour after meat was cooking. I recommend the searing. It made it very flavorable. I cooked it for about 7 hours and it was plenty. It is a great crockpot recipe and a wonderful Sunday night dinner! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
This was one of the best roast recipes I have come across. I used a tri-tip because that is all I had it came out so tender it just fell off the fork, I will always use a tri-tip from now one. Because I didn't have enough potatoes or carrots for the stew I put in mushrooms and celery. I also seasoned the tri-tip with season-all before browning it. I used one can of cream of Mushroom with roasted garlic because I didn't have two cans of regular cream of mushroom soup. the mixture was terrific. the gravy this roast recipe made was so good, that we used it the next night over rice and the left over meat. My girls loved this recipe and told me to make sure I make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
We loved this-be sure to use a 5qt or larger crock pot for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2004
I gave this only three stars because the meat was a little tough and the veggies were a little under done. I let this cook for 9 hours so I don't know what went wrong. I prefer the recipe on this website titled "Pot Roast in Foil". That was so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Lamb with Root Vegetables

What's cooking in Polson? This impressive lamb dish.

How to Roast Winter Vegetables

Learn how to roast seasoned root vegetables to bring out their earthy flavors.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States