Kathy's Roast and Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Excellent and super easy. Came home to a meal made by my honey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by woodfairie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Loved it...though I added celery. Mom and husband said add it to the list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This was just ok. My family and I thought it was too salty. We prefer the Cola Pot Roast recipe on this site instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I tried this recipe and I agree with most who left reviews. I added celery and two very small onions for more onion flavor. I also rubbed a small amount of sea salt, and thyme to the roast prior to searing it. The flavor was incredible, through the roast, and "gravy" was also great. Thank you so much for this recipe, I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This was super easy and delicious. I used a bottom round roast that I had in my freezer. I also followed the advise of others and browned the meat first and deglazed the pan with just a few tablespoons of beef broth. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
No need to brown the roast. I use one package of onion soup and one can of cream of mushroom soup. I cook the roast for 8 hours and put the vegetables in for the last 5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria430

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
This recipe was right on. Tender moist and delicious. As my family is a fan of spices, I added my usual: Lawyrs Season Salt, Garlic Powder, Onion Powder, Black Pepper, Dry Basil, Dry Thyme. I also added one can full of water to the mushroom/onion soup mixture. This gave the resulting gravy the right consistency (no need to thicken). I would make no other change to this recipe. Jaque, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
This is really good! The soups makes a terrific gravy. I only had a top round roast, not sirloin, but it didn't matter. The meat was fork tender. I rubbed the meat with fresh pepper and garlic powder prior to browning. As others suggested I mixed the soups in the pan used for browning in order to deglaze the pan. I didn't have new potatoes so I quartered russert potatoes. Make sure you have some bread on hand to pour over the remaining gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Man

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Made this last nite for dinner. Followed the receipe only difference was I bought a 3 lbs. rump roast. Meat was juicy and done just they way we like it. The gravy was delicious. Will have the leftovers tomorrow. The smell as it was cooking was throughout the house and couldn;t wait to sit down for dinner. Will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
This roast was well-seasoned, but more slightly more salty flavored than I prefer. This was my second attempt at pot roast and overall a success. Cooked on high with veggies and all in about 5 hrs! The searing definitely makes a difference in the flavor and moisture. I used beefy onion soup mix and think I will use regular onion mix next time. That may have been where the extra salt came from. I think I will also add fresh herbs too for more taste. Very tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Lamb with Root Vegetables

What's cooking in Polson? This impressive lamb dish.

How to Roast Winter Vegetables

Learn how to roast seasoned root vegetables to bring out their earthy flavors.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States