Kathy's Roast and Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
4 1/2 STARS WITH A FEW ADDITIONS - EASY, YUMMY GO TO ROAST
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
This was such a super easy recipe and tasted amazing that I had to rate it. I made mashed potatoes instead and didn't have 2 cans of cream of mushroom so I used cream of celery instead (not sure why I had it in the pantry). I also added some chopped celery. SUPER easy and delicious! It didn't look right without liquid so I used about 1/4 cup of chicken broth, marinade, season salt and italian (mixed) spice. AMAZING! The leftovers can be used with noodles or even open faced on bread. EVERYONE loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Actually, this is the ONLY way I cook a roast anymore. I have simplified this by buyng canned whole potatoes, and frozen stew vegetables. The frozen veggies include potatoes, carrots, celery and small pearl onions. After pan searing the meat on all sides, I place it in the crock pot, add 1 can cream of mushroom soup, 1 can of EITHER vegetable broth, OR beef broth, pour a generous amount of red wine into the pot, and then add a package of dried onion soup mix, and then the can(s) of potatoes, and the frozen stew vegetables. Lately I have been adding a can of tomatoes and 1 can of green beans, both drained. When the roast and veggies are finished, (you can tell by the meat rising and the liquid is boiling), I then stir in some Kitchen Bouquet and add a little flour and water to thicken the 'gravy' and the roast is all ready. I purchase a larger roast at either Sam's OR Costco, and its my habit to cut that roast in half and use only ONE half of the roast. The other is kept in the freezer for a future new meal. I never try to cook a roast in the oven anymore. In the crock pot, the meat is juicy, tender and has such a terrific flavor. The oven only dried out the meat and the veggies. The crock pot roast is the best! I have on hand a lot of those spice bottles now for hamburger, or steaks, etc, and I sprinkle some of each type into my masterpiece. Hubby and grandson LOVE it when I make a roast now. After the initial meal, you have a quick and easy stew to be reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
great recipe. I used a 4 pound bottom round roast. in slow cooker for 10 hrs. added some quartered sweet potatoes in addition to small red potatoes. also added frozen pearl onions, baby carrots(all I had). I also used a low sodium, low fat cream of mushroom soup (x2) and added more mushrooms, garlic cloves. house smelled fabulous. searing the meat first is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Worked well, the kids liked it too. Bonus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Very easy & very good! i had to sub tomato soup for the mushroom, because that's what i had on hand, and it came out wonderfully! i will definitely be making this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
wonderful...I added 2 red onions quartered, 3 russets potatoes cut into 4 pieces each, and a pound of baby carrots...served over rice even with potatoes in it! My boys were in heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lightedway
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
This meat is so delicious. So tender you can cut it with a feather. I made this in the oven in a roasting pan covered tightly with foil at 350 degrees for 3 hours. Stirred a splash of red wine and 2 Tbs of Worcestershire Sauce into the soups. Didn't cook the veggies with the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lightedway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I used a 2.5 pound pork sirloin roast, baby carrots, and cut-up russet potatoes, but otherwise followed the directions. Browning the roast didn't help the shrinkage, but maybe that's a beef-only tip? The gravy/sauce was delicious, and the carrots were good. The pork was a bit dry after all that (and I turned it off of low to "keep warm" after 6.5 hours because it was just boiling away), and the potatoes were kind of a mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
this was GREAT!!!!! I didn't brown every side I just threw it all in the crock pot and let it cook for 8 hours on low! My family does not like mushrooms so I just put to cans of cream of chicken. I will be making this agian
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Lamb with Root Vegetables

What's cooking in Polson? This impressive lamb dish.

How to Roast Winter Vegetables

Learn how to roast seasoned root vegetables to bring out their earthy flavors.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States