Kathy's Roast and Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This is the first pot roast I have done in my new slow cooker. I had a 3.5 pound bottom roast and it was done in 6 hours. I put in carrots, potatoes and a whole white onion at the beginning and they were perfect, not overdone at all. My only complaint is that I felt the meat was overshadowed by all the other flavors?? I like my roast beef to have a beef flavor and while very tender, the meat flavor didn't come through. I loved the sauce it created, but my boyfriend was looking for more of an "au jus" sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This is very good! My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Came out looking just as beautiful as the picture posted but, it was missing something flavor wise? Maybe I'll stud it with some cloves and add a couple of bay leaves and oh ya, some VINO next time. Total cook time= 7 hours in a 7qt. cooker Meat very tender and vegetables were super soft and yummy, just the way I like them!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South San Francisco, California, USA
Living In: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I have to admint I was a little skeptical about this recipe. I have made it twice now and both times it was delicious! The first time I didnt add any veggies. The second time I added potatoes, carrots and celery and it tasted much better than without. The only change I made was after I browned the meat, I delgazed the pan with a little bit of beef broth and added that to the sauce mixture. Great Sunday dinner recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STUUUAAART

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I think I may have goofed on this recipe. I added about 2 cups of water to the soup mixture because it seemed to me that it would all evaporate if I didn't. The veggies were fabulous but the meat came out very tough. Was adding the water a bad move? Is there a blog on this site for questions? I'd love to hear from someone who knows where I goofed. I will try it again without water and see what results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
this was such a good quick and easy recipe. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mypini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eagle Lake, Florida, USA
Living In: Phelan, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly and it was ok. The meat was a little chewy and the canned soup made it VERY salty. I don't add salt to anything so it was too much for me. My husband agrees. I won't use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bkhudalla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
My husbands loved this recipe. Can't wait to make it again. I used the extra sauce over noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Very tasty and easy. I put big chunks of carrot into the crockpot and they cook just fine. Used the lo-fat cream of mushroom and still good. Also added some quartered onion, and I deglazed the browning pan with 1/2 cup of leftover coffee and added that too. Makes lots of yummy gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
As said,it is the best, will make again, did make a few changes, only used one can of soup and added carrots, potatoes and onions in about half way through cooking time. Very tender and juicy, gravy excellent on poatoes. Gotta try TracyC
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Preston, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 299) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Lamb with Root Vegetables

What's cooking in Polson? This impressive lamb dish.

How to Roast Winter Vegetables

Learn how to roast seasoned root vegetables to bring out their earthy flavors.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States