Kathy's Roast and Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kristy
Reviewed: May 11, 2015
Awesome pot roast! One of the best roasts I've ever made. I almost forgot to take a picture I was so excited to dive in lol. when it was done cooking I did have to mix in some water and cornstarch to thicken it up a bit and then let it cook a little longer. I will deffinetly be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Hands down one of THE BEST RECIPES IVE MADE IN MY CROCKPOT. I would make this everyday if only the roast wasn't so expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
With interest I learned that browned and cooked meat and vegetables evolved from the colonial-era New England boiled dinner. Termed "pot roast" sometime before 1881, it is a true early american dish. This recipe by Kathy is a great example. Made this yesterday and my wife and daughters loved it! I had seconds. Used a 3# tri-tip roast, browned both sides, added carrots, potatoes, and I used 1 can of campbells cream-of-mushroom w/ garlic and 1 can Amy's organic C.O.M. soup (first time making this - can say if it made a difference), and the only other addition was i added portabella mushrooms and a little red wine, about 1/3 cup. Slow on low for 8 hours - just set it and forget it - didn't stir or turn at all. Cooked just right & Delicious!! I did expect the liquid aspect of the dish to be thicker, more gravy-like, with the soup being condensed (thicker), but is was liquidy. Next time I will remove the meat & vege's and make a gravy. Served with cranberry sauce and sourdough bread (french, I know but went well with it and sopped up juices great!). I will definitely make this again! Thanks Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Limestone, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This recipe came out great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RPMsMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Superb! Kids and husband loved it. Lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I will up the number of potatoes and carrots next time I make this, because the meat-to-veggie ratio didn't seem ideal. Otherwise, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
This is so easy and everyone loved it. The only change I made was to use one teaspoon of the onion soup mix which worked out well for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
wonderful Jan 27 2014
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Easy to make and great recipe for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Simple and delicious! The only thing I would've done different is put the veggies in later after the roast. They came out a little too overdone. That's my fault though, because my slow cooker is crazy and likes to cook things too fast. My advice if you're making this for the first time is do it exactly as instructed. You can always personalize it to your taste later. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meihru

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bay Shore, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Lamb with Root Vegetables

What's cooking in Polson? This impressive lamb dish.

How to Roast Winter Vegetables

Learn how to roast seasoned root vegetables to bring out their earthy flavors.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States