Kathy's Roast and Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
The only changes we made was to reduce the Cream of Mushroom soup to one can and added onions and celery. Delicious and tender.. and such a wonderful smell to come home to on a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Finally, a roast I didn't mess up. The only reason I didn't give it five stars was because it was a little on the bland side. I'll add onions next time, and probably a little more seasonings, but over all, a great roast recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This was GREAT! So tasty and easy. I will say I think next time I will use a smaller amount of meat. The 3lbs + everything else, had a hard time fitting in the pot. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
This was, by far, one of the best roasts I have ever made! My great-aunt always made the best roast, and I've never found a recipe that came close until now! Normally, I follow the recipe exactly...but considering my time limit, I had to make a few minor changes. I started cooking it late afternoon, so there wouldn't be enough time to cook it in the slow cooker. Instead, I cooked it in the oven. Rather than one can of CoM soup, I used two since I like a lot of gravy! I also used the beefy onion soup mix, as the regular onion soup mix is too "oniony" for my taste. I seared the roast per the recipe directions, and put the roast and drippings in the bag. I then added the carrots and red potatoes. After I spread the "gravy" generously over the roast, I put the rest on the veggies. I cooked it on 375 for about two hours, then took it out of the bag to test for doneness. i then stirred and covered the raost and veggies with tinfoil, and cooked it for another 2 hrs. at 350. The gravy the soup mixtures made were amazing!! There were no left overs! Other than the cooking method and extra can of soup, no changes need to be made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeeAnn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This is a great basic Roast recipe! A lot like mine except I always add a couple dash's of a good Bourbon and a dash of Hickory Liquid Smoke along with a teaspoon or so of chopped roasted Garlic to add additional flavor! My husband hates cooked carrots so I just use Potatoes and Onion instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raven

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I used cream of chicken instead of mushroom. I followed everything else as well as added whole garlic and chopped onions. Great Sunday dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vivienne

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
This was a very good roast. It came out tender and moist with good flavor. I used whole small potatoes, red and white mixed. Other than that I didn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Very easy to make and the family really liked it. I didn't bother browning the meat beforehand, and it was fine. Also, when I took the meat out to rest for 15 minutes before carving, I removed the vegetables and kept them warm and added a mixture of 2 tbsp flour kneaded with 2 tbsp margaine to the slow cooker. I put the lid back on and turned it up to high and ended up with delicious gravy for the meat. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Not as special as I anticipated. Maybe a bottom round roast was not the best cut to use? At this point I'll stick with what already works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Don't change a thing. I made it just as it's posted and my family truly couldn't get enough of it to eat. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMissy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Florence, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Lamb with Root Vegetables

What's cooking in Polson? This impressive lamb dish.

How to Roast Winter Vegetables

Learn how to roast seasoned root vegetables to bring out their earthy flavors.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States