Kathy's Roast and Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Made this last nite for dinner. Followed the receipe only difference was I bought a 3 lbs. rump roast. Meat was juicy and done just they way we like it. The gravy was delicious. Will have the leftovers tomorrow. The smell as it was cooking was throughout the house and couldn;t wait to sit down for dinner. Will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
This roast was well-seasoned, but more slightly more salty flavored than I prefer. This was my second attempt at pot roast and overall a success. Cooked on high with veggies and all in about 5 hrs! The searing definitely makes a difference in the flavor and moisture. I used beefy onion soup mix and think I will use regular onion mix next time. That may have been where the extra salt came from. I think I will also add fresh herbs too for more taste. Very tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
What an awesome recipe! It seemed WAY too simple to come out tasting SOOOO good... but don't be fooled by the simplicity... the end result will not disappoint you! Definitely take the extra time to brown the roast first; it seers in such great flavor. I cut up a few stalks of celery and added it along with the carrots and potatoes; also don't skimp on the amount of garlic because it pairs so well with the beef. This is a wonderful dish; it will be my "go to" pot roast recipe from now on. (Even my mother-in-law loved it and went back for seconds!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
This was my very first slow cooker meal, and I have to say I'm hooked! I did make a few simple changes: used Healthy Request Cream of Mushroom soup to control the sodium content, put 3 whole garlic cloves in the soup mixture before putting the meat on top of it, and added some celery chunks. I served it with garlic bread and it was a real hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maui Heidi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
This was just average for us. Nothing really set it apart as a great roast recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
My family enjoyed the flavor of this recipe, although it was a bit salty. The main problem we had was that the meat was very dry after 8 hours in the crockpot. I followed the directions perfectly, but just couldn't get the meat to turn out right. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Tender and flavorful with or without veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maggie dickey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Very juicy, flavorful and tender way to cook this lean cut of roast! I followed the recipe except I substituted a can of french onion soup as I didn't have dry soup mix on hand. The juice was a bit thin as a result but tasted great when spooned over the meat and veggies! I'll be shopping for another good buy on bottom round soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
So, so yummy. The roast was tender and the sauce was great! I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommieAmanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
i never write reviews, but this was sooo good! the meat was incredibly tender and the veggies were done perfectly. i followed the recipe how it was written except i used baby carrots instead of cutting up whole ones. i will be making this again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 299) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Lamb with Root Vegetables

What's cooking in Polson? This impressive lamb dish.

How to Roast Winter Vegetables

Learn how to roast seasoned root vegetables to bring out their earthy flavors.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States