Kathy's Italian Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Try adding lemon chips to batter. Lemon juice & 1 Tablespoon lemon zest to icing works great also. Lemon zest = grating lemon - only very outside yellow area [- stop at white layer], when grating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb D4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jenison, Michigan, USA
Living In: Comstock Park, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Followed it exactly as written and the cookies are fabulous. They will be a new must-have Christmas cookie at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Iv'e been making these for years!! My grandmother used to make them , and now I do.. though I just call them grandmas cookies...they are delicious... and make them in tribute to her every year!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Very Good.....just like my grandmothers! The only difference was she added a little anise to the icing and cooking mix. Very easy recipe to make. Will definetly make again...thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I don't know if I did something wrong, I followed the recipe exactly. All the other reviews were so good, I had high expectations. I wondered if the tablespoon of baking powder should have been a teaspoon. They tasted like flour, and were hard and dry like hockey pucks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Outstanding. They pass the test for this Italian and her kids! Added some mini chocolate chips to have of the dough and made them as little balls. Delicious and easy to ice. Will add them to my Christmas baking list for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
My husbands aunt has made these for years and everyone loves them....unfortunately her recipe was a little of this and a little of that...haha..and we never could duplicate them...I showed her this recipe...she had me add a hint of fresh lemon juice to the icing and a little more lemon juice to the batter and they were unbelievable.....I can't believe how good they are...I am so excited that I can now make these great cookies. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
this reminds me of our ital. family recipe for easter cookies we make some like this and some with anise extact we color the glaze w/food coloring this is the thing that brings back memories for me thank you love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I have a similar recipe that uses anise instead. I even put a little anise in the frosting. I do not use ornage juice. You can use vanilla instead of anise if you like. Time consuming to make ane sticky too, but well worth it. My family looks forward to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States