Kathy's Easy Chile Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I have made this recipe approximately five times and have made my own modifications to it, primarily to make it spicier and I added an extra can of the cream of chicken with an extra 1/2 cup rice. Due to the extra ingredients I increase the temperature to 375 degrees and added an extra half hour on the timer. Thanks Kathy for a wonderful recipe that my whole family has enjoyed over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lela
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
This casserole was okay. I cooked the chicken and rice before adding all the other ingredients. I baked the casserole for 40 minutes. My husband thought the casserole needed more spices. He plans on making a tasty burrito with the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Delicious! Since people mentioned it was a bit dry, I poured some hot salsa in the rice mixture and it was fantastic! I didn't want it to be bland so when I cooked the chicken, I used taco some taco seasoning. Otherwise I followed the recipe and everybody loved it...no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
This recipe is quick, easy and very tasty. When I added the diced green chiles, I didn't drain them. I also added the original rotele, undrained, and sliced black olives, undrained. Because I had time, I marinated the chicken in olive oil, cumin, chile powder for 2 hours and browned the chicken before adding. I DID like the frozen peas and it made the recipe look like a paella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
This was sooooo good! I did a few changes though. I used a can of cream of chicken and a can of cream of mushroom. I used diced tomatoes with green chilies and 2 big cans of chicken. I also used one drained can of corn. I also cooked my rice in advance. I also used a package of taco seasoning mix to season the dish. It was very good and simple to fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Scotland Neck, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This is a recipe I will definately make again. I used brown rice instead of white. I used cream of celery and added 3/4 cup light sour cream. Also added a little bit of some pico de gallo I had in the refer. Boyfriend LOVED it. Will be making a double batch next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Stanwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I also tweaked the recipe a bit. I used 98% fat free soup, skim milk, and reduced fat Mexican blend cheese. I put in a fresh diced poblano pepper, a few dashes of cumin, skipped the peas, and had a lovely casserole with a Mexian twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Avon, Ohio, USA
Living In: North Ridgeville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Very good...I did add some chili powder, cumin and seasoning salt. Next time I think I will try adding cilantro as well. I baked for 1 hr and then stirred in some corn rather than peas and 1/4 cup chunky salsa. Topped with cheese and crushed tortilla chips and baked for another 10-15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wa53rose
Home Town: Cathlamet, Washington, USA
Living In: Kalama, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
very yummy :). i also added corn. and 2 cans off chilles and cream of chicken soup. it was very good. it did take a little longer for my chicken to be all the way done. (might just be the thickness though)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetpeafairy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I followed others suggestions and added corn, chopped onion and frozen sliced bell peppers. I used sage, lemon pepper and garlic powder for spices. I used 2 cans of chiles. I tried making it in the crockpot and turned the the rice into mush. However, my husband and 12 yr old son, who are not big casserole fans, loved it and we finished the whole thing. This dish was very tasty, but I'll use the oven next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States