Kathy's Easy Chile Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2015
I used brown rice instead of white. Big mistake. Do not do this, unless you cook it first. I baked it, microwaved it for 15 minutes, and the rice was still crunchy. I added 1 packet of taco seasoning per other's suggestions and it was too salty. I would only recommend 1/2 a packet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shianne Hacker Lister
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Delicious! I used one can of cream of chicken, one can cream of mushroom, one cup instant white rice and one cup milk it was so good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I have made this recipe approximately five times and have made my own modifications to it, primarily to make it spicier and I added an extra can of the cream of chicken with an extra 1/2 cup rice. Due to the extra ingredients I increase the temperature to 375 degrees and added an extra half hour on the timer. Thanks Kathy for a wonderful recipe that my whole family has enjoyed over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lela
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
This casserole was okay. I cooked the chicken and rice before adding all the other ingredients. I baked the casserole for 40 minutes. My husband thought the casserole needed more spices. He plans on making a tasty burrito with the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Delicious! Since people mentioned it was a bit dry, I poured some hot salsa in the rice mixture and it was fantastic! I didn't want it to be bland so when I cooked the chicken, I used taco some taco seasoning. Otherwise I followed the recipe and everybody loved it...no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
This recipe is quick, easy and very tasty. When I added the diced green chiles, I didn't drain them. I also added the original rotele, undrained, and sliced black olives, undrained. Because I had time, I marinated the chicken in olive oil, cumin, chile powder for 2 hours and browned the chicken before adding. I DID like the frozen peas and it made the recipe look like a paella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
This was sooooo good! I did a few changes though. I used a can of cream of chicken and a can of cream of mushroom. I used diced tomatoes with green chilies and 2 big cans of chicken. I also used one drained can of corn. I also cooked my rice in advance. I also used a package of taco seasoning mix to season the dish. It was very good and simple to fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Scotland Neck, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This is a recipe I will definately make again. I used brown rice instead of white. I used cream of celery and added 3/4 cup light sour cream. Also added a little bit of some pico de gallo I had in the refer. Boyfriend LOVED it. Will be making a double batch next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Stanwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I also tweaked the recipe a bit. I used 98% fat free soup, skim milk, and reduced fat Mexican blend cheese. I put in a fresh diced poblano pepper, a few dashes of cumin, skipped the peas, and had a lovely casserole with a Mexian twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Avon, Ohio, USA
Living In: North Ridgeville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Very good...I did add some chili powder, cumin and seasoning salt. Next time I think I will try adding cilantro as well. I baked for 1 hr and then stirred in some corn rather than peas and 1/4 cup chunky salsa. Topped with cheese and crushed tortilla chips and baked for another 10-15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wa53rose
Home Town: Cathlamet, Washington, USA
Living In: Kalama, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Chicken Tetrazzini

See how to make an easy baked chicken tetrazzini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States