Kathy's Delicious Whole Slow Cooker Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
It's been way too hot to use the oven lately, so I've been making different slow cooker recipe for the past few weeks. This recipe turned out quite well! I followed the recipe exactly. Next time I would definitely marinate the chicken overnight, because the leftover chicken tasted more flavourful the next day. The problem is with slow cooker chicken recipes, is that they don't get crispy and caramalized like they do when when roasted in the oven. The meat is definitely moist and tender though. I would definitely try this again in the oven, when it isn't so hot out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
My husband loved this I thought it was so so, the liquid was a little too much but I managed to make a gravey out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Delicious, the best chicken ever! Great, easy, and very tasty recipe! I made only slight modifications; I added 1 tsp chicken seasonings and fresh rosemary. Red wine vinegar instead of balsamic and no sezame oil. I cooked it 8h on low. The whole house smells great and meat falls off the bones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Masovian, Poland
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Just ok, meat fell off of bones well. No kind of edible sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrCrackers

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I was really excited about making this, and I followed the recipe exactly, but it just didn't turn out well. It was overly greasy, overcooked and bland. The blandness really surprised me, given all of the flavorful ingredients. Something is definitely missing. I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUPERHIPCRYSTAL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
This is the best chicken I have ever had - cooked it in a 350 deg. oven for 4 hrs. in a cast iron pot with lid but it didn't need that long. The sauce was delicious and thick - served it over rice. Good enough for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
This recipe is incredible and for sure a keeper! Makes 6 servings, but I'm bummed I can't eat it all myself! The only thing I did differently, was I added the whole can of chicken broths which was 2 cups because I wouldn't have used up the broth with any other recipes, then I upped the other ingredients also to compensate. The chicken is so tender and the sauce so tasty- it will make an excellent gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
This literally fell off the bones! It was delicious! I did a 5lb chicken and, on low heat, it was done after 6 hours (may be my slow cooker?). I used half the olive oil it called for and realized I was out of worcestershire sauce so I added a little extra chicken broth to make up for those two things. I will make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I loved this recipe and so did my husband. I skinned a 5# fresh, whole organic chicken, except for the wings and placed it in a cup of clear chicken broth, breast down into the crock pot. Put a whole quartered large onion and large halfed garlic clove inside the cavity. I did double the broth recipe except for the olive oil and poured this over the chicken, added some baby carrots and cooked it on high for 5 hours. The broth of this recipe is amazing and we will probably get a couple of more meals from it! I would recommend this recipe for a dinner party too.(Always nice to have time to pick up while the main course is cooking) I served with sauteed green beans and portabella mushrooms as the veggie. Also steamed jasmine rice. Yummy :) Soup Fiend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 531) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Delicious Whole Slow Cooker Chicken

The sauce gives this whole chicken a rich, deep flavor. And it's so easy!

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States