Kathy's Delicious Whole Slow Cooker Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
The chicken was dry and bland while I really liked the sauce. May try it again without skinning the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Following the advice of others, I only threw in a splash of olive oil. I also double the rest of the liquid because I'm typically serving a bigger family and thus cook a larger chicken. Because of this, we usually need the full eight hours on low, but if cooking a smaller bird it would probably be less as others have mentioned. This recipe is easily amended to taste. For ours, we stuff the cavity with a quartered onion and garlic cloves. Sometimes we want more of a citrus flavour and throw in a whole lemon or orange, sliced. Other times we like something more spicy and kick it up with some hot peppers and ginger root. Either way, it's amazing when served with broccoli, garlic, onions, carrots, and water chestnuts. Thanks, Kathy, for sharing this recipe. What a treat!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Japheth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Very good! I used a 5 pound chicken, but placed it in slow cooker breast side down so it was immersed in the liquid the whole time. Excellent! Next time, I will take time to reduce and thicken sauce with cornstarch to make a thicker gravy. Served with sticky white rice, everyone licked the bowl!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
This is a keeper. I did change a few things.I took the others advice and even though I doubled the ingredients because I had a 6lb chicken I only added 1/4cup of olive oil and a tsp of sesame oil. I cooked this for 5 hours on high and this was a little to much the chicken came out a little dry but I liked the flavor of the marinade so I reduced it on the stove to about half then added just enough cornstarch to where it wasn't runny and spread that over the chicken. This really brought out the flavors it was the easiest way I have ever cooked a whole chicken it just fell off the bone. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Outstanding. Tastes great, and really easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Not a big fan of this recipe. It was kind of bland, and the chicken was dry, even tho it was swimming in liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly and found it not to be as flavorful as the other reviews. Also it was on the dry side, perhaps because the skin was removed. I'll stick to roasting a chicken in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I had a whole chicken that needed cooking on a 110 degree day and even though I had my doubts initially as to putting it in the crockpot, the idea of not having to turn on the oven really appealed to me so I took a chance. This turned out so amazingly tender, juicy and flavorful, just the two of us gobbled it down in no time at all. Served with rice pilaf and steamed broccoli. This is a recipe we will definitely be having again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Great flavor and a perfect meal when it is too hot to bake in the oven. I'll make this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
made this for dinner tonight but wasn't impressed. 8 hours seemed to be too long. Parts of the chicken were dry. 2 Stars for ease of making it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux Lookout, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 532) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Delicious Whole Slow Cooker Chicken

The sauce gives this whole chicken a rich, deep flavor. And it's so easy!

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States