Kathy's Delicious Whole Slow Cooker Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Not all that impressed. The meat was dry and the flavor of the sauce was really lacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This was an easy recipe that I was able to make while at work and when I came home, dinner was ready. I love that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Very moist, broth made an excellent gravy. I left the skin on, used karo syrup instead of honey and used less. All four kids were very pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
I made this for my family of 7. So I had to make 2 chickens. I didn't put as much olive oil as someone had suggested. I had quite a bit of chicken leftover and the juice. I made soup by sauteing thinly sliced celery, chopped onion and shredded carrot in a small amount of butter till crisp-tender. Then I added a small can of chicken broth and simmered until the veggies were tender. I added the leftover chicken, cut up, the leftover rice, and the leftover juice, with the fat skimmed off. It seemed to be missing something, so I added a 15 oz. can of diced tomatoes. I simmered this for about a half hour. My family LOVED it! I really like the original recipe and the remaining soup was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
The sauce was wonderful, but I cooked mine on high, and it turned out very dry. I'll try it again on low. I have high hopes for this chicken recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I was glad to find a recipe for a whole chicken in the crock pot. I thought it was good, but the cooking time was too long so some of the meat was a little dry. But, I made the sauce into gravy which was good, And I put the pulled off meat in some sauce to moisten it while waiting for hubby to arrive home. I would make it again, but cook it shorter time. I used a 5 pound chicken and it cooked the whole time I was at work fro 8 hours on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I thought this was really good. I used a 4.5 lb chicken, so I did double the recipe. The chicken came out very tender and really did fall off the bone. However, the cooking time in the recipe is way too long. I cooked mine on low for 4 1/2 hours and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Cooked up nice but was rather flavorless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer8

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I will not make this again. I used this recipe to save time, but will be spending extra time to make this into a casserole or salad, because it's not acceptable for a main dish as is. I cooked on low setting for only about 4 1/2 hours, and it was already falling apart but the meat was extremely dry. Based on other reviews, I made some modifications. I used apple juice in addition to chicken broth, eliminated the honey, balsamic, and sesame oil; I reduced the soy sauce, used very little olive oil, and added salt, pepper, garlic, and onion to both the chicken itself and the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I used chicken pieces. I am also very lazy - I did not skin the pieces, thus left out the olive oil completely. (Keep the sesame oil!) I threw in 4 crushed garlic cloves, rest of the ingredients, and layered sliced onions below the pieces. Low setting on 8 hours for chicken pieces will dry it out, especially if using white meat. Using low heat, I threw in some carrots at 3 hours, and at 4 hours, I threw in some broccoli. After another 30 minutes (4.5 hours total), it was ready! Even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 528) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Delicious Whole Slow Cooker Chicken

The sauce gives this whole chicken a rich, deep flavor. And it's so easy!

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States