Kathy's Delicious Whole Slow Cooker Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I tried this recipe. All of the ingredients sounded amazing. Our family of 4 adults said that it was good but not great. The meat did fall off the bone, and the only thing I wasn't able to add was the sesame oil. Maybe that's what might have made the difference. I will not try this again, on to another recipe for the crock pot whole chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Well...this is the first recipe that I did not like on here. I was so excited to try it too. I followed the recipe exactly and the chicken was very dry and had no flavor. I had to dip the chicken into the extra sauce to have some taste. Don't get me wrong the sauce wasn't bad but I wouldn't make it again. Everything else I put in the slow cooker comes out great and juicy... I'm not sure what went wrong. There are plenty of other recipes to chose from. Win some lose some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
This was great! My husband loved the meat, but thought the sauce was a bit sweet; our daughter & I enjoyed it! I did do things a bit differently - but not by much. My "chicken" turned out to be a 7.6 # turkey! I ran out of time, so seared it in the oven @ 500 before finishing it at 325. Also, I salted the cavity & added some white pepper, then stuffed it with dried shallots & leafy celery hearts. I use about 1/3 pinot grigio white wine in place of some of the chicken broth. It came out so tender! :) We served it with a recipe of 'coconut rice' by Emma Maher and steamed broccoli. Thanks, Kathy!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onegrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
This was wonderful and easy. We had it for mother's day, my mom loved it and so did the rest of my family. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
We used the pressure cooker instead of the crock pot, and it worked out great. I suggest not to skip the sesame oil--it adds such great flavor. We did cut the olive oil in half as other reviewers suggested. I think if we had let it marinate in the sauce mixture before cooking this would have been even better. The dark meat was awesome, it had great flavor. So tender and juicy! White meat wasn't as impressive, so will definitely marinade it next time and see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Strickler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Sorry Kathy. I followed recipe exactly. Sauce was oily and chicken not very tasty. My husband wouldn't eat after first bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Love this recipe. It is a favorite in our household. So easy to put together in the morning for a hot and delish meal at night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
The chicken was so so tender, the flavor wasn't so great, yes I agree too much oil, chicken lacked flavor must season the entire chicken, I even rotated the chicken half way to hopefully get a flavorful chicken, didn't work I even added carrots & mushrooms to the recipe which was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Not bad, if I were to make it again, I would probably marinate the chicken in the sauce, and put the marinade and chicken directly in the slow cooker. The recipe could use a little bit of a kick as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This chicken was delicious! My whole family loved it! I omitted the olive oil and sesame oil as others suggested and I am glad I did because the sauce is perfect. I did double all the ingredients because my chicken was double the size (about 6 lbs). Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 532) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Delicious Whole Slow Cooker Chicken

The sauce gives this whole chicken a rich, deep flavor. And it's so easy!

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States