Kathy's Delicious Whole Slow Cooker Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I originally thought to give this recipe 1 star because, the first time I made it, it wasn't as tasty as everyone claimed in the reviews. In fact, it was downright awful. I am a fairly good cook so I made a few modifications. First, instead of chicken I used the other white meat, tilapia, and I substituted the Worcestershire sauce, balsamic vinegar, and lemon juice with a bold, red Malbec from Australia. I cooked it in a dutch oven on the stove because I didn't want to use a crockpot and, I added potatoes, pearl onions, turnips, and brussel sprouts for more flavor. The tilapia essentially cooked away and the vegetables didn't cook at all thus, this recipe was a total bust. JUST KIDDING! We followed this recipe to the letter and ended up with the best slow cooker chicken dinner we've ever made. I suggest pairing with a SOUR CREAM FAN ROLL (recipe by Carrie Ormsby) and the Malbec. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Snyder, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
The marinade was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Disappointing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Wonderful flavor, the whole family loved it. The chicken just fell off the bone and nice and moist. I did double the sauce and served over brown rice with shitaki mushrooms and asparagus as the side. I also served small slices of ciabatta bread to lap up the delicious sauce. I didn't bother mixing the sauce in a bowl I just mixed in the crock pot and then added the chicken and turned the chicken several times before and during cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I normally wouldn't bother writing a review, but the fact that this recipe has such high ratings overall, combined with the fact that I just simply could not salvage it, makes me feel the need to review it. I followed the recipe, with the exception of the lemon juice, because when I was picking up the ingredients I forgot to get that. When I came in that evening, the apartment smelled good, although the soy sauce scent was somewhat overwhelming. I thought, with as strongly as it smelled, surely the dish would be flavorful. However, it was completely bland and dry. I tried fixing it by adding in flavors similar to the original recipe, but everything I tried just made it taste worse. Not to mention mixing in the seasonings made the chicken fall into a million pieces, and because of the soy sauce, every part, meat and bone alike, were the exact same color and nearly impossible to tell apart without biting into chicken vertebrae. Not remotely appetizing. Needless to say, I won't be making it again, and I hope maybe I can save someone else the trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simon Dixon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Excellent flavor but mine turned out a bit dry too after 3.5 hours on low in the slow cooker. Does it get more moist if you leave it all day as the recipe suggests?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Yummy with rice and or pita bread !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Easy yet delicious! What else can you ask for in a slow cooker recipe? I left the skin on my chicken and left out the olive oil. It came out so tender and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cliffside Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Awesome! A must try. My son called it "heaven" and overall hates chicken. Might consider thickening the sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Rosier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
This was exactly the type of recipe I was looking for to make a whole chicken in the slow cooker! It was sooooo delicious! My husband couldn't stop praising it and has generously given me permission to make it every week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Friday Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 545) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kathy's Delicious Whole Slow Cooker Chicken

The sauce gives this whole chicken a rich, deep flavor. And it's so easy!

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States