Kathy's Delicious Whole Slow Cooker Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
This was exactly the type of recipe I was looking for to make a whole chicken in the slow cooker! It was sooooo delicious! My husband couldn't stop praising it and has generously given me permission to make it every week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Friday Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Trid this out the other day, and LOVED IT!! Read reviews, and opted to use less olive oil (the evoo I used was a carmalized garlic infused oil), increased the sesame oil (for taste), used lime juice rather than lemon (it was all I had), and used a chicken fresh from the hutterite colony that sells produce/meat at local farmers market. Stuffed the cavity with a bunch of quartered onion also. Absolutely divine!! Meat was fall apart/off the bone at 7hrs, so turned off crockpot and left lid on for last 30mins. Paired with corn and jasmine rice, and mixed drippings with cornstarch to make a delectable gravy. Eating on second day was almost better than the first! Will make again, no question!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Costa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
This recipe is excellent!!! My nephews,who are picky eaters, loved it and wanted me to cook this again! I cooked it on high and it was tender and juicy in 4 hours. I definitely will be cooking again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
we raise our own meat chickens, I took a chance on this recipe, we thought it was way over rated, was very dis-appointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I tried this recipe. All of the ingredients sounded amazing. Our family of 4 adults said that it was good but not great. The meat did fall off the bone, and the only thing I wasn't able to add was the sesame oil. Maybe that's what might have made the difference. I will not try this again, on to another recipe for the crock pot whole chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Well...this is the first recipe that I did not like on here. I was so excited to try it too. I followed the recipe exactly and the chicken was very dry and had no flavor. I had to dip the chicken into the extra sauce to have some taste. Don't get me wrong the sauce wasn't bad but I wouldn't make it again. Everything else I put in the slow cooker comes out great and juicy... I'm not sure what went wrong. There are plenty of other recipes to chose from. Win some lose some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
This was great! My husband loved the meat, but thought the sauce was a bit sweet; our daughter & I enjoyed it! I did do things a bit differently - but not by much. My "chicken" turned out to be a 7.6 # turkey! I ran out of time, so seared it in the oven @ 500 before finishing it at 325. Also, I salted the cavity & added some white pepper, then stuffed it with dried shallots & leafy celery hearts. I use about 1/3 pinot grigio white wine in place of some of the chicken broth. It came out so tender! :) We served it with a recipe of 'coconut rice' by Emma Maher and steamed broccoli. Thanks, Kathy!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onegrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
This was wonderful and easy. We had it for mother's day, my mom loved it and so did the rest of my family. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
We used the pressure cooker instead of the crock pot, and it worked out great. I suggest not to skip the sesame oil--it adds such great flavor. We did cut the olive oil in half as other reviewers suggested. I think if we had let it marinate in the sauce mixture before cooking this would have been even better. The dark meat was awesome, it had great flavor. So tender and juicy! White meat wasn't as impressive, so will definitely marinade it next time and see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Strickler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Sorry Kathy. I followed recipe exactly. Sauce was oily and chicken not very tasty. My husband wouldn't eat after first bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 536) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Kathy's Delicious Whole Slow Cooker Chicken

The sauce gives this whole chicken a rich, deep flavor. And it's so easy!

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States