Kathy's Delicious Whole Slow Cooker Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
We used the pressure cooker instead of the crock pot, and it worked out great. I suggest not to skip the sesame oil--it adds such great flavor. We did cut the olive oil in half as other reviewers suggested. I think if we had let it marinate in the sauce mixture before cooking this would have been even better. The dark meat was awesome, it had great flavor. So tender and juicy! White meat wasn't as impressive, so will definitely marinade it next time and see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drayface15

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Sorry Kathy. I followed recipe exactly. Sauce was oily and chicken not very tasty. My husband wouldn't eat after first bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Love this recipe. It is a favorite in our household. So easy to put together in the morning for a hot and delish meal at night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
The chicken was so so tender, the flavor wasn't so great, yes I agree too much oil, chicken lacked flavor must season the entire chicken, I even rotated the chicken half way to hopefully get a flavorful chicken, didn't work I even added carrots & mushrooms to the recipe which was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Not bad, if I were to make it again, I would probably marinate the chicken in the sauce, and put the marinade and chicken directly in the slow cooker. The recipe could use a little bit of a kick as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This chicken was delicious! My whole family loved it! I omitted the olive oil and sesame oil as others suggested and I am glad I did because the sauce is perfect. I did double all the ingredients because my chicken was double the size (about 6 lbs). Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Delicious. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Didn't love the taste of this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
I've used All Recipes for a long while now and I've learned to trust the reviews. I made this chicken as directed but with about 1/8 cup olive oil and no sesame oil but instead replaced the difference with chicken broth. Once the chicken was at the end of the schedule I took 1 cup of the sauce from the crock pot and another cup of chicken broth for 2 cups of dry rice and orzo. Everything was AMAZING! The chicken fell off the bones and was absolutely delicious, even my picky daughters liked it! I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
I wasn't wild about the flavor of the sauce, but a good technique. I will play around with seasonings and be sure to put 3 balls of aluminum foil in the bottom of the crock pot so the chicken on the bottom doesn't get too soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 527) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Delicious Whole Slow Cooker Chicken

The sauce gives this whole chicken a rich, deep flavor. And it's so easy!

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States