Kathy's Baked Stuffed Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
A great base idea to modify to your liking. I added spinach, onions, lots of garlic. I baked THEN topped with feta cheese, oregano and spices. I also stuffed some bell peppers and can see it being a good dip for raw vegetables or bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
This is good but lacks something, I added a pinch of Cayenne pepper for some zip and it helped. The reviews said that their tomatoes were watery, When I removed the pulp I took a paper towel and blotted the inside of the tomato. I then added approx (1) Tablespoon of fresh dried bread crumb to the bottom and I also mix the bread crumbs into the hummus mixture. These came out perfectly baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
I subbed Basil for the Arugula but thought it was great recipe. My husband planted Yellow Stuffer heirloom tomatoes and they were perfect for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Although the flavor was great and this recipe was delicious, it was essentially a tomato filled with bean dip. Next time I'll probably throw i some diced tomatoes, couscous, sauted onions (etc..) into the filling. I think this would improve the texture.. But try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda B.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I love every ingredient in this recipe, but I thought the proportions were out of whack. I eat a lot of "green"-tasting foods, but this tasted too green even for me--yet the overall flavor was bland. I think it needs less arugula and beans, and more feta and Parm for some saltiness. A lot of reviewers mentioned that their tomatoes were too watery--I used beefsteaks and they came out very firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Maybe I did something wrong but this not good. I couldn't eat it. It was very dry. I drained the garbonzo beans, and used a mix of fresh spinach and basil in place of the argula. Was not nearly creamy enough. Also, tomatoes aren't in season so even that part wasn't good. Bummer :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I really liked this recipe. It was a great way to use up some of the tomatoes from our garden. I also made the stuffed pepper recipe with this one and it was a nice combination. A great vegetarian meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
Delicious! Fun colors too! I did add salt and pepper and I wish there was another recipe suggested to use the insides of the tomatoes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sanzoe
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
These were pretty good. They did get a little watery and if I make them again I will put them on convection roast in my oven to bake them. MIL who is a vegetarian raved about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
The stuffing was good - although I doubled the amount of feta, used fresh spinach, and used a combination of shredded and grated parmesan cheese. Cooked for slightly more than 20 minutes. However, when I took the dish out of the oven there was water in the bottom and the tomatoes were soggy. Hubby wasn't a big fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States