Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Stacey Lynn
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
This recipe is awesome! I changed it slightly - I didn't add onion or tomato juice, but added 1 cup of tomatoes, onion and broth from my slow cooker, cooked over night with a pork roast - then I used the hand blender to smooth it out. We had pulled pork sandwiches and this sauce was a huge hit! I also added a tbs of balsamic vinegar. The sauce thickened beautifully. I even poured off two 4oz jars to gift to a friend. This will be a go to BBQ sauce from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey Lynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica Gieson
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Ok, I had a bit of a modification to the recipe but its freaking awesome. Instead of Cayenne pepper I used two mild and two hot Jalapeños, to counterbalance the the heat I use a little more Brown Sugar, and a few tablespoons of Honey. I also didn't have Garlic Powder so I used minced Garlic. Might be my new favorite Sauce. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Gieson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Loved the molasses flavor - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Excellent! Really enjoyed on a cold night. Made as directions stated. Added a little flour and water to thicken with about 30 minutes to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave Bobke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Some of the ingredients contribute some salt, but not nearly enough to carry a large quantity of condiment like this. I started with 1/2 teaspoon--you don't need to slam it with salt like food manufacturers do--and go from there according to your tastes. The other thing I knew would be missing before I even put in all the ingredients was TOMATO. Luxe it up with tomato PASTE, same quantity as juice called for. I added some rosé vinegar because I like vinegar in barbeque sauce. I dialed down the cayenne because I share the table with two of the younger set (6 and 7 years old). Everything else is perfect. Oh, I added a whole big onion to a double batch. We like onion. Very great savory sauce. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Very Good , just leave out the liquid smoke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I made this recipe as it states without modifying anything and I have to say, I'm not sure how anyone can eat this with all the liquid smoke in it. It tasted like a chemical factory. I read the recipe twice because it seemed like 2 tablespoons of liquid smoke flavoring is ALOT, I should have trusted my judgment, it tasted like drinking straight liquid smoke. Maybe the recipe was written wrong and should have been teaspoon or something. Normally when I use liquid smoke I just put a couple of caps full, 2 tablespoons was a good portion of my small bottle. Sorry, just not edible, and I was a little bummed to have wasted a cup of ketchup and a whole cup of organic molasses which isn't cheap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
This is my favorite bbq sauce, commercial or homemade. It's got the perfect blend of sweet and hot for my tastes, and plenty of complexity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Truly an award winning! I prepared a batch for baby pork loins I grilled today. Everybody loved the sauce. One slight variation: I added 1 chipotle for extra flavor and spiciness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
This was really good. I followed the recipe exactly, but we had a problem because we doubled the recipe. Double the cayenne pepper made it incredibly hot once it was cooked. I tasted it before and it was fine, but after it cooked, it was crazy spicy. I added a little lemon juice to counterbalance the heat, which helped. It's delicious, but watch the cayenne amounts if you adjust the serving size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States