Kate's Light n' Fluffy Buttermilk and Chocolate Chip Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
These waffles were so light and fluffy. I used real buttermilk, not powdered. I didn't use chocolate chips, but made them plain, then topped them with fresh cream and blueberries. Scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
My waffles turned out great, but I made many modifications: subbed whole wheat pastry flour, added 1/4 tsp salt, 2 T sugar, used 1 cup fresh buttermilk instead of milk & did not used dried butter milk, subbed evaporated milk for cream, subbed canola oil for butter. Added a couple T of milk to thin the batter. I also reduced the chocolate chips to 1/2 c, and it was still very chocolatey. I have another recipe that produces similar results with less effort, so don't know if I'll make again, but this is a delicious recipe. Thanks, BIGTIMEMENACE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
My husband said these are the best buttermilk waffles he's tasted in a long time! I used fresh buttermilk plus some 2% for consistency, omitted the cream, and chocolate chips, and got egg yolk in the egg whites so they didn't form stiff peaks, and the waffles were still fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Killer. Absolutely perfect. Light and fluffy, yes ma'am. This one's a keeper. NOTE: I also used real buttermilk instead of powdered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Sinful, but absolutely delicious. Next time I'll make it without chocolate chips. Just my personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Harvey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Quartz Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Well, I didn't have half the ingredients but I was determined to make these!!! I used 3/4 c. buttermilk and 1/2 c. whole milk, omitting the buttermilk powder and cream, and substituted canola oil for the butter. I am notorious for not following directions, and this was no exception. I mixed the wet ingredients together, added the dry ingredients, and everything came out fine. I also added a dash of salt and a tablespoon of sugar, per previous reviews. They were a hit with my son, who is kind of picky!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
I have to say that these are practically foolproof. My three year old helped me make them and I completely breezed past the part of the recipe that said to beat the egg whites separately (oops). Even still, they turned out fabulous! I can only imagine how much better they'll be when I actually follow the directions!...my kids are freaking thrilled with the chocolate chips alone, which elevates me to Hero Mom status. Thanks for sharing the recipe, Kate! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
Very good, skipped beating the egg white separately, and it was still nice and light. If I have more time next time I will. Didn't have mini chips, so I chopped up regular ones in the food processer. Half a cup was perfect. Next time I might add some chopped pecans too...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
Delicious! It took a little bit longer to prepare than other waffle recipes I've tried, but the results were definitely worth it! Husband LOVED them! These will be the only waffles I make from now on. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seattle2Sydney
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I wanted something really quick, so I skipped the various steps and just mixed all the ingredients together (didn't actually separate the eggs either). It turned out fine. I also added grated zucchini, and my zucchini-hating kid didn't even know it was in there :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States