Kate's Light n' Fluffy Buttermilk and Chocolate Chip Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
These really are LIGHT and fluffy. They are probably better suited as a dessert. However, if you half the amount of chocolate chips, they probably wouldn't be too sweet! YUM! I hope a lot of people try them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
they ARE light and fluffy...and so tasty...had them for breaky...and i have extra for dessert tonite with homemade ice cream...yummy is a good word to describe these waffles...will make them again...maybe will try with reeses pieces chips next time...thank you for the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
I thought these were GREAT, although a lot of work. They were very light and fluffy and also crisp which for me was great! (I have a belgian waffle maker and can't always find crisp waffle recipes) My husband gave them 4 stars and my daughters both loved them. I did make a few adjustments due to lack of ingredients: I used regular buttermilk and added it after combining the wet and dry ingredients and also used a cup of regular chocolate chips. If you like very sweet waffles, these would not be for you...the chocolate chips supply most of the flavor and sweetness. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
These waffles were so light and fluffy. I used real buttermilk, not powdered. I didn't use chocolate chips, but made them plain, then topped them with fresh cream and blueberries. Scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
Delicious! It took a little bit longer to prepare than other waffle recipes I've tried, but the results were definitely worth it! Husband LOVED them! These will be the only waffles I make from now on. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
I love this recipe. I make it as pancakes also. A family favorite. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
I have to say that these are practically foolproof. My three year old helped me make them and I completely breezed past the part of the recipe that said to beat the egg whites separately (oops). Even still, they turned out fabulous! I can only imagine how much better they'll be when I actually follow the directions!...my kids are freaking thrilled with the chocolate chips alone, which elevates me to Hero Mom status. Thanks for sharing the recipe, Kate! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
My husband said these are the best buttermilk waffles he's tasted in a long time! I used fresh buttermilk plus some 2% for consistency, omitted the cream, and chocolate chips, and got egg yolk in the egg whites so they didn't form stiff peaks, and the waffles were still fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
These were definitely fluffy but better suited for a dessert. In the future, I will add a little sugar and omit the chocolate chips for a more "normal" breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Sinful, but absolutely delicious. Next time I'll make it without chocolate chips. Just my personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Harvey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Quartz Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States