Kate's Easy German Sauerbraten Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
I have made this twice. It is wonderful! This recipe tastes better than the Sauerbraten made at a very popular German restaurant in town. I did not have many of the spices mentioned and spices can be a little expensive, but it was well worth it. I will just have to make this recipe more often :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JD Bulldozer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I made this for New Years Eve for a group of friends. We were looking for a hearty meal prior to going to a celebration downtown. I was taking a chance since it was the first time I ever made the recipe so I was pretty nervous about my meal turning out. It was awesome and everyone loved it! I did cook this in the oven on 300 degrees rather than a slow cooker like another reviewer suggested but otherwise followed the recipe minus the juniper berries which I could not find. The gravy is awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
So much like my father's recipe (which he wouldn't share, and took to his grave!) that I can't wait to try it. 2 essential ingredients that I have seen missing from other recipes are the lemon and the gingersnaps to thicken the gravy.The only thing I will do differently is sear the roast before putting it in the crockpot. I think it really helps develop the flavor. I will serve it with red cabbage, potato pancakes and my grandma's Apfel Kuchen recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Deysenroth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Not a huge fan of German cuisine, but this is very good. Followed instructions for marinade exactly, including juniper berries harvested in my yard, and let it sit for two days. Instead of a slow cooker I put it in a cast iron Dutch oven at 300 deg for about 4 hr. I believe pot roasts cooked this way are far superior to a slow cooker. And during chilly weather the heat and aroma in the kitchen are much appreciated. Served with red cabbage and noodles. Flavorful and falling-apart tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Solon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kimv
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Followed the recipe almost exactly and it was delicious! So easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
The easiest, tastiest Sauerbraten ever! Quick and delicious. My son requests it for his birthday every year, and this is a pleasure to make. I follow directions exactly and it is perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonja Flater

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I tried this recipe and cooked the roast in the marinade... the sauce after the ginger snaps , was so strong , peppery , salty , and just not a compliment to the meal that I had to corn syrup, water , what ever i could to sweeten... Next time cook roast in water and do the marinade , ginger snaps on the stove top.... I think the 4 hrs or so with the roast made it so strong , the ginger snaps couldn't resurrect it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by richard roper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ayer, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
This sauerbraten was a bit to sour for me. I understand what sauer means,it just wasn't a dish that I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
GREAT!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keeper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Fabulous!! As good or better than any I've had at German restaurants. I didn't have whole cloves, so I used powdered. Marinated mine for 5 days for a fuller flavor and it turned out perfect! Makes a wonderful gravy, though I did add a package of brown gravy mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States