Kate's Black-Eyed Pea Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Delicious! Used for New Years Day, nice bright flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookiequeen
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I used to make one almost identical to this in the restaurant I cooked at last. Love it. I used fresh cooked & cut up bacon instead of bottled. I also made it more flavorful by adding the bacon grease I cooked the bacon in. If you do this, decrease the olive oil by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiequeen

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Poteau, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA
Photo by Courtney Woods
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
We enjoyed this so much! I've made different variations of black-eyed pea salad, but this is my fave now! The only thing I did differently was add a red bell pepper instead of a green bell pepper and I added garlic powder as well. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Woods

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fayetteville, Texas, USA
Living In: Columbus, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I don't normally rate recipes but this recipe is awesome! I did this according to the recipe but added red onion as well as some cilantro. So good and I tasted it right away...I can't wait until all the flavors marinate together and eat some for the New Year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Sooo good! I left the sugar completely out. Substituted some shredded carrots for the pimentos. I could eat the whole bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merriam, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Very tasty, took it to a New Year Eve Party and everyone had some after midnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Desoto, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
We added crumbled feta cheese on the top and it really tasted wonderful! Everyone said its the best black eyed pea recipe they've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
This came out great - topped with tomato basil feta cheese, and a little ground chipotle pepper for color and spice. I took the other reviewers suggestion and halved the dressing formula, with sugar cut back to 2 Tb.It was just wet enough and there was enough marinade to coat everything as it was stirred up again. It was a little sweet and savory at the same time. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Delicious salad, but I leave the celery out due to my personal preference. But everyone I have served it to really likes it. I have also substituted the sugar with splenda and it was good as well. Thanks Kate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
my sister-in-law makes a version of this and tops it with tomato basil feta cheese. The cheese is wonderful with the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ohiocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

Chopped Cashew Salad

A colorful, crunchy salad loaded with good stuff like avocados, grapes, and nuts.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chilies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States