Kate's Black-Eyed Pea Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Delicious! Used for New Years Day, nice bright flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookiequeen
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I used to make one almost identical to this in the restaurant I cooked at last. Love it. I used fresh cooked & cut up bacon instead of bottled. I also made it more flavorful by adding the bacon grease I cooked the bacon in. If you do this, decrease the olive oil by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiequeen

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Poteau, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA
Photo by Courtney Woods
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
We enjoyed this so much! I've made different variations of black-eyed pea salad, but this is my fave now! The only thing I did differently was add a red bell pepper instead of a green bell pepper and I added garlic powder as well. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Woods

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fayetteville, Texas, USA
Living In: Columbus, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I don't normally rate recipes but this recipe is awesome! I did this according to the recipe but added red onion as well as some cilantro. So good and I tasted it right away...I can't wait until all the flavors marinate together and eat some for the New Year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Sooo good! I left the sugar completely out. Substituted some shredded carrots for the pimentos. I could eat the whole bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merriam, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Very tasty, took it to a New Year Eve Party and everyone had some after midnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Desoto, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
We added crumbled feta cheese on the top and it really tasted wonderful! Everyone said its the best black eyed pea recipe they've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
This came out great - topped with tomato basil feta cheese, and a little ground chipotle pepper for color and spice. I took the other reviewers suggestion and halved the dressing formula, with sugar cut back to 2 Tb.It was just wet enough and there was enough marinade to coat everything as it was stirred up again. It was a little sweet and savory at the same time. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Delicious salad, but I leave the celery out due to my personal preference. But everyone I have served it to really likes it. I have also substituted the sugar with splenda and it was good as well. Thanks Kate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
my sister-in-law makes a version of this and tops it with tomato basil feta cheese. The cheese is wonderful with the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ohiocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

Chopped Cashew Salad

A colorful, crunchy salad loaded with good stuff like avocados, grapes, and nuts.

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States